Pluriel

University platform for research on Islam

Initiated by
the Federation
of European
Catholic
Universities

Supported by
the International
Federation
of Catholic
Universities

Islamochristiana 42: Mercy

2016 will be remembered, in the history of the Catholic Church, as the year of the ‘Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy’. We know well that mercy is the true beating heart, both in Christianity and in Islam. For this reason, PISAI organised an international conference during the ‘Jubilee of Mercy’ entitled ‘Raḥma. Muslim and Christian Studies in Mercy’ (13-15 October 2016). The proceedings of this interesting and well-attended conference will appear in the course of 2017 in the series Studi arabo-islamici del PISAI, but Islamochristiana desires to present some of these in advance, with the choice of five interventions, by which it is possible for the reader to perceive the quality of the whole conference.

The first is the keynote address of Cardinal Walter Kasper, whose studies have helped to stimulate the reflection of Pope Francis. His sharp and synthetical address presents the Christian biblical and theological data, but does not hesitate to launch some provocative challenges into the Muslim camp. As a ‘pendant’, we decided to include the article by Ramon Harvey on the revelation of mercy in the Muslim theological vision. Then follow the two great interventions of Angelika Neuwirth and Mustansir Mir. Professor Neuwirth, from Berlin, analyses with great precision the meanings of mercy and their various expressions in the Qur’an, while Pakistani-American professor Mir analyses, the same concept, also in the Qur’an but from a different and complementary angle. Finally, the contribution of Dirk Ansorge on a difficult and complex theme: mercy as a theological problem, especially in relation to justice. But the richness of this issue of Islamochristiana also appears in the series of studies that follow the group of contributions on mercy. Two articles reflect on Muslim-Christian relations in history: Marek Nasiłowski with Diego R. Sarrió Cucarella and Jaume Flaquer. Some current issues emerge in four articles; Maurice Borrmans, Tobias Specker, Bishop Jean-Marc Aveline; Sami Riahi translates into Arabic an important article by Gideon Libson on custom as a source of Muslim law. Finally, as a concrete experience of dialogue in life, Ignazio De Francesco illustrates an experience of very good conduct in the Dozza prison in Bologna. The numerous reviews and presentations of books, as well as the Notes & documents concerned with Islam and Islamic-Christian relations complete this issue.

For more information: http://en.pisai.it/publications/journals/islamochristiana/

L’année 2016 sera retenue dans l’histoire de l’Eglise catholique comme celle du “Jubilée extraordinaire de la Miséricorde”. Nous savons bien que la miséricorde est au cœur tant du christianisme que de l’islam. Voilà pourquoi, le PISAI a organisé un colloque international durant ce jubilée (13-15 octobre 2016) intitulé “Raḥma. Muslim and Christian Studies in Mercy”. Les actes de ce colloque très suivi seront publiés au cours de 2017 dans la collection Studi arabo-islamici del PISAI, mais Islamochristiana voudrait anticiper sur cette publication, en présentant cinq interventions qui témoigneront auprès des lecteurs de la qualité de ce colloque.

La première contribution est celle du Cardinal Walter Kasper qui, grâce à sa recherche, avait stimulé la réflexion du Pape François. Son intervention pertinente et synthétique présente les données biblico-théologiques chrétiennes, mais n’hésite pas à provoquer aussi la partie musulmane. Pour faire pendant, nous avons inséré l’article de Ramon Harvey sur la révélation de la miséricorde dans la vision théologique musulmane. Viennent ensuite les deux grandes interventions de Angelika Neuwirth et de Mustansir Mir. La professeure berlinoise analyse avec précision les sens de la miséricorde et ses expressions dans le Coran et le professeur pakistano-américain analyse, toujours dans le Coran, le même concept sous un angle différent et complémentaire. Enfin, nous avons la contribution de Dirk Ansorge sur un thème difficile et complexe, à savoir la miséricorde comme problème théologique, surtout en relation avec la justice. La richesse de ce numéro d’Islamochristiana se manifeste encore dans la série des études qui suivent l’ensemble des contributions sur la miséricorde. Deux articles sont des réflexions sur les rapports islamo-chrétiens dans l’histoire, l’un d’eux par Marek Nasiłowski avec Diego R. Sarrió Cucarella et l’autre par Jaume Flaquer. Quelques thèmes actuels se manifestent dans quatre autres articles : Maurice Borrmans, Tobias Specker, l’évêque Jean-Marc Aveline ; Sami Riahi traduit en arabe un article important de Gideon Libson sur la coutume comme source de la législation musulmane. Enfin, comme expérience concrète du dialogue dans la vie, Ignazio De Francesco retrace une belle expérience qui vient de se dérouler dans la prison Dozza de Bologne. Les nombreuses recensions, les présentations de livres et les riches notes et documents relatifs à l’islam et aux rapports islamo-chrétiens complètent ce numéro.

Pour plus d’informations : http://fr.pisai.it/publications/revues/islamochristiana/

Resources related to keywords

publication

Religions put to the test by freedom of expression

  • Michel Younès
  • Mohamed-Ali Mostfa
  • Malek Chaïeb

“In the republican context, freedom of expression involves all the players in society and mobilises a wide range of intellectual resources. What then are the conditions that foster it while r...

publication

Islam & Otherness. Proceedings of the Pluriel congress in Beirut

  • Mohamed-Ali Mostfa
  • Michel Younès
  • Roula Talhouk

Edited by Michel Younès, Ali Mostfa and Roula Talhouk “In a contemporary context marked by a growing tendency to lock oneself into oppositional logics, reflection on otherness in Islam opens ...

article

Making religion online: the case of Islam

  • Mohamed-Ali Mostfa

Islam in the digital age is becoming an inescapable reality in the lives of believers, thus introducing a new modality in the understanding of Islamic faith. From now on, the sacred text, rituals, ...

article

A reading of Ibn Arabi in light of the theology of religions

  • Jaime Flaquer Garcia

Abstract: “A Reading of Ibn ‘Arabī in the Light of the Theology of Religions”. Ibn ‘Arabī proposes a universal religion which encompasses all religions but which is theophanised synthetically in th...

publication

Muslim Social Action in Europe: Community Engagement, Charitable Contribution, and Religious Activism in France, Switzerland, and Great Britain.

  • Baptiste Brodard

In France, as in other European countries, Muslim associations offer charitable services including the distribution of food parcels to low-income families, outreach to the homeless, academic suppor...

article

From Islamic Reference to Conservative Pragmatism – The Sinuous Paths of the Moroccan JDP Discourse

  • Mohamed-Ali Mostfa

"The relationship between the political and religious fields in Morocco is generally based on tactical choices and pragmatic issues, often far from simple ideological orientations. In this context,...

publication

Authority in Islam. What regulation? Proceedings of the symposium.

  • Michel Younès
  • Mohamed-Ali Mostfa

“It is often said: “”no clergy in Islam””. In the absence of a hierarchical and universal magisterial authority, what are the instances and figures that serve as regul...

article

Overcoming the Imperialist Seduction: A Polylogue Reading of Mary towards a Theology of Peace

  • Michaela Quast-Neulinger

"The current war waged by Russia against Ukraine once again sheds light on the ambivalent role of religion in violent conflicts, and especially the use of religious figures for imperialist politica...

Pluriel

Plateforme universitaire de recherche sur l’islam

Initiée par la
fédération
des universités
catholiques
européennes

Soutenue par
la fédération
internationale
des universités
catholiques

Islamochristiana 42 : Mercy

L’année 2016 sera retenue dans l’histoire de l’Eglise catholique comme celle du « Jubilée extraordinaire de la Miséricorde ». Nous savons bien que la miséricorde est au cœur tant du christianisme que de l’islam. Voilà pourquoi, le PISAI a organisé un colloque international durant ce jubilée (13-15 octobre 2016) intitulé « Raḥma. Muslim and Christian Studies in Mercy ». Les actes de ce colloque très suivi seront publiés au cours de 2017 dans la collection Studi arabo-islamici del PISAI, mais Islamochristiana voudrait anticiper sur cette publication, en présentant cinq interventions qui témoigneront auprès des lecteurs de la qualité de ce colloque.

La première contribution est celle du Cardinal Walter Kasper qui, grâce à sa recherche, avait stimulé la réflexion du Pape François. Son intervention pertinente et synthétique présente les données biblico-théologiques chrétiennes, mais n’hésite pas à provoquer aussi la partie musulmane. Pour faire pendant, nous avons inséré l’article de Ramon Harvey sur la révélation de la miséricorde dans la vision théologique musulmane. Viennent ensuite les deux grandes interventions de Angelika Neuwirth et de Mustansir Mir. La professeure berlinoise analyse avec précision les sens de la miséricorde et ses expressions dans le Coran et le professeur pakistano-américain analyse, toujours dans le Coran, le même concept sous un angle différent et complémentaire. Enfin, nous avons la contribution de Dirk Ansorge sur un thème difficile et complexe, à savoir la miséricorde comme problème théologique, surtout en relation avec la justice. La richesse de ce numéro d’Islamochristiana se manifeste encore dans la série des études qui suivent l’ensemble des contributions sur la miséricorde. Deux articles sont des réflexions sur les rapports islamo-chrétiens dans l’histoire, l’un d’eux par Marek Nasiłowski avec Diego R. Sarrió Cucarella et l’autre par Jaume Flaquer. Quelques thèmes actuels se manifestent dans quatre autres articles : Maurice Borrmans, Tobias Specker, l’évêque Jean-Marc Aveline ; Sami Riahi traduit en arabe un article important de Gideon Libson sur la coutume comme source de la législation musulmane. Enfin, comme expérience concrète du dialogue dans la vie, Ignazio De Francesco retrace une belle expérience qui vient de se dérouler dans la prison Dozza de Bologne. Les nombreuses recensions, les présentations de livres et les riches notes et documents relatifs à l’islam et aux rapports islamo-chrétiens complètent ce numéro.

Pour plus d’informations : http://fr.pisai.it/publications/revues/islamochristiana/

2016 will be remembered, in the history of the Catholic Church, as the year of the ‘Extraordinary Jubilee of Mercy’. We know well that mercy is the true beating heart, both in Christianity and in Islam. For this reason, PISAI organised an international conference during the ‘Jubilee of Mercy’ entitled ‘Raḥma. Muslim and Christian Studies in Mercy’ (13-15 October 2016). The proceedings of this interesting and well-attended conference will appear in the course of 2017 in the series Studi arabo-islamici del PISAI, but Islamochristiana desires to present some of these in advance, with the choice of five interventions, by which it is possible for the reader to perceive the quality of the whole conference.

The first is the keynote address of Cardinal Walter Kasper, whose studies have helped to stimulate the reflection of Pope Francis. His sharp and synthetical address presents the Christian biblical and theological data, but does not hesitate to launch some provocative challenges into the Muslim camp. As a ‘pendant’, we decided to include the article by Ramon Harvey on the revelation of mercy in the Muslim theological vision. Then follow the two great interventions of Angelika Neuwirth and Mustansir Mir. Professor Neuwirth, from Berlin, analyses with great precision the meanings of mercy and their various expressions in the Qur’an, while Pakistani-American professor Mir analyses, the same concept, also in the Qur’an but from a different and complementary angle. Finally, the contribution of Dirk Ansorge on a difficult and complex theme: mercy as a theological problem, especially in relation to justice. But the richness of this issue of Islamochristiana also appears in the series of studies that follow the group of contributions on mercy. Two articles reflect on Muslim-Christian relations in history: Marek Nasiłowski with Diego R. Sarrió Cucarella and Jaume Flaquer. Some current issues emerge in four articles; Maurice Borrmans, Tobias Specker, Bishop Jean-Marc Aveline; Sami Riahi translates into Arabic an important article by Gideon Libson on custom as a source of Muslim law. Finally, as a concrete experience of dialogue in life, Ignazio De Francesco illustrates an experience of very good conduct in the Dozza prison in Bologna. The numerous reviews and presentations of books, as well as the Notes & documents concerned with Islam and Islamic-Christian relations complete this issue.

For more information: http://en.pisai.it/publications/journals/islamochristiana/

Ressources lié aux mots clés

videos

Discours d’ouverture du quatrième congrès à Abu Dhabi, Michel Younès

  • Michel Younès

À l'ouverture du quatrième congrès de la Plateforme universitaire de recherche sur l'islam Pluriel, qui célèbre son dixième anniversaire, Michel Younès a exprimé sa fierté pour les avancées en mati...

publication

Les religions à l’épreuve de la liberté d’expression

  • Michel Younès
  • Ali Mostfa
  • Malek Chaïeb

« Dans le contexte républicain, la liberté d’expression engage tous les acteurs de la société et mobilise une diversité importante de ressources intellectuelles. Quelles sont alors les conditions q...

publication

Islam & altérité. Actes du congrès de Pluriel à Beyrouth

  • Ali Mostfa
  • Michel Younès
  • Roula Talhouk

Sous la direction de Michel Younès, Ali Mostfa et Roula Talhouk « Dans un contexte contemporain marqué par une tendance croissante à s’enfermer dans des logiques d’opposition, la réflexion su...

article

Faire religion en ligne : le cas de l’islam

  • Ali Mostfa

L'islam à l'ère numérique s'insère dans la vie des croyants comme une réalité incontournable, inaugurant ainsi une modalité nouvelle dans la compréhension de la foi islamique. Désormais, le texte s...

article

Une lecture d’Ibn Arabi à la lumière de la théologie des religions

  • Jaime Flaquer Garcia

Résumé : Ibn 'Arabī propose une religion universelle qui englobe toutes les religions, mais qui se théophanise de manière synthétique dans la Loi révélée à Muhammad. C'est pourquoi il continue d'in...

publication

L’action sociale musulmane en Europe. Engagement communautaire, contribution caritative et activisme religieux en France, en Suisse et en Grande-Bretagne

  • Baptiste Brodard

« En France comme dans d’autres pays européens, des associations musulmanes proposent des prestations caritatives incluant la distribution de colis alimentaires aux familles précaires, les ma...

article

De la référence islamique au pragmatisme conservateur : les chemins sinueux du discours du PJD marocain

  • Ali Mostfa

"La relation entre les domaines politique et religieux au Maroc est généralement basée sur des choix tactiques et des problèmes pragmatiques, souvent loin des simples orientations idéologiques. Dan...

publication

L’autorité en Islam. Quelle régulation ? Actes de colloque

  • Michel Younès
  • Ali Mostfa

On entend souvent dire : « pas de clergé en islam ». En l’absence d’une autorité magistérielle hiérarchique et universelle, quelles sont les instances et les figures qui font office de régulation ?...