Pluriel

University platform for research on Islam

Initiated by
the Federation
of European
Catholic
Universities

Supported by
the International
Federation
of Catholic
Universities

Cédric Baylocq

Doctor in social and cultural anthropology from the University of Bordeaux with a thesis entitled “Religious Authority and Islamic Norms in a Secular Context” (supervised by Pierre Bidart/John Bowen, submitted in September 2011, defended in February 2012), Cédric Baylocq was a postdoctoral researcher at the Jacques Berque Center for Research in Social Sciences and Humanities (UMIFRE CNRS 3136) in Rabat from 2011 to 2013, where he notably coordinated 2 research programs funded by the ANR. He was then recruited as an assistant professor (permanent contract/full-time) in Moroccan higher education (private) in 2013, contributing to the launch of an Institute of Political, Legal and Social Sciences and teaching several courses, including “Introduction to Arab-Muslim Thought,” “Anthropology of Morocco,” and “Introduction to Political Sociology and Anthropology.”

He joined the Central Office for Worship (DLPAJ) of the Ministry of the Interior in September 2015 as a research officer, where he notably established a fund dedicated to supporting research in the humanities and social sciences on Islam in France and Europe, as well as Islamic studies (calls for proposals, scientific committees, administrative committees, relations with higher education and research institutions, monitoring and support for winning teams, research summaries…), and contributed to dialogue between the State and the Muslim faith.

From September 2019 to 2021, he worked as a mission officer at the North Africa Middle East (ANMO) department of the Ministry of Europe and Foreign Affairs (MEAE), before resuming teaching duties at the Catholic Institute of Paris, and as an associate researcher at the Institute of Science and Theology of Religions (ISTR), as well as at the Laboratory Les Afriques dans le Monde (LAM), IEP Bordeaux.

Since March 2023, he has been a mission officer at the French Institute of Islamology (IFI) as responsible for valorization and scientific dissemination.

Affiliation institution(s)

Member of the Research group

Institut Catholique de Paris - France

Islam and Otherness (Paris)

In the global context of identity tensions, migratory flows, depreciation of the image of the Muslim world and its association to Daesh and al-Qaeda’s terrorist attacks, the Institute of Science and Theology of Religions in Paris intends to carry out a research on the capacity of Islam to maintain a constructive and peaceful relationship with […]

Researchers of this group

Location

Loading ...

Resources related toSociology

publication

Muslim Social Action in Europe: Community Engagement, Charitable Contribution, and Religious Activism in France, Switzerland, and Great Britain.

  • Baptiste Brodard

In France, as in other European countries, Muslim associations offer charitable services including the distribution of food parcels to low-income families, outreach to the homeless, academic suppor...

publication

Authority in Islam. What regulation? Proceedings of the symposium.

  • Michel Younès
  • Mohamed-Ali Mostfa

“It is often said: “”no clergy in Islam””. In the absence of a hierarchical and universal magisterial authority, what are the instances and figures that serve as regul...

article

Bad guy or good guy? The framing of an imam

  • Noemi Trucco

In this paper, we investigate framing in the case of an imam in Switzerland. We conducted a qualitative content analysis of 175 articles from Swiss newspapers and public broadcasting websites in Ge...

article

Breaking Ramadan in the city centre. The public presentation of a young Muslim association

  • Guillaume Chatagny

By Federico Biasca and Guillaume Chatagny "This article presents, describes, and analyses an event for breaking the fast organized in the public sphere by a local association of young Muslims in...

videos

Between Standardization And Otherness: Being A Muslim In The In The French Armed Forces

  • Elyamine Settoul

Already present since the colonisation process, the question of Islam within the French army has reappeared strongly with the settling down of the populations resulting from the great waves of indu...

publication

Exploring Islamic Social Work. Between Community and the Common Good

  • Hansjörg Schmid

This open access book addresses, for the first time, Islamic social work as an emerging concept at the interface of Islamic thought and social sciences. Applying a multidisciplinary approach it exp...

videos

Does the pandemic affect radicalisation?

  • Patrice Brodeur

Collaboration between Canadian and French researchers in the framework of the Centre Jacques Cartier talks, promoting partnerships between the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region and Quebec.

publication

Understanding Ethnic, Religious and Cultural Minorities in Turkey

  • Anja Zalta

Volume 26 of the journak Poligrafi, edited by Anja Zalta, Tahir Abbas, and Umut Azak Abstract : The study of ethnic minorities is of vital concern in the context of nations consisting of different...

Pluriel

Plateforme universitaire de recherche sur l’islam

Initiée par la
fédération
des universités
catholiques
européennes

Soutenue par
la fédération
internationale
des universités
catholiques

Cédric Baylocq

Docteur en anthropologie sociale et culturelle de l’université de Bordeaux avec une thèse intitulée Autorité religieuse et normes islamiques en contexte laïque (dir. Pierre Bidart/John Bowen, dépôt sept. 2011, sout. février 2012), Cédric Baylocq a été chercheur postdoctorant au Centre Jacques Berque pour la recherche en sciences humaines et sociales (UMIFRE CNRS 3136) à Rabat de 2011 à 2013, où il a notamment coordonné 2 programmes de recherche ANR, avant d’être recruté au rang de professeur assistant (CDI/fulltime) dans l’enseignement supérieur marocain (privé) en 2013, contribuant notamment au lancement d’un Institut des sciences politiques, juridiques et sociales et assurant plusieurs cours dont une « Introduction à la pensée arabo-musulmane », « Anthropologie du Maroc », ou « Introduction à la sociologie et l’anthropologie politiques ».

Il a rejoint en septembre 2015 le Bureau central des cultes (DLPAJ) du ministère de l’intérieur en qualité de chargé de mission recherche, où il a notamment mis en place un fond consacré au soutien à la recherche en Sciences humaines et sociales sur l’islam en France et en Europe et en islamologie (AAP, CS, CA, relations avec l’ESR, suivi et appui aux équipes lauréates, synthèses des recherches…) et contribué aux instances de dialogue entre l’État et le culte musulman.

De septembre 2019 à 2021, il a été chargé de mission à la direction Afrique du Nord Moyen Orient (ANMO) du Ministère de l’Europe et des Affaires Étrangères (MEAE), avant de reprendre des charges de cours au sein de l’Institut Catholique de Paris, et de chercheur associé à l’Institut de Science et Théologie des Religions (ISTR), ainsi qu’au Laboratoire Les Afriques dans le Monde (LAM), IEP de Bordeaux.

Depuis mars 2023, il est chargé de mission au sein de l’Institut français d’islamologie (IFI) en tant que chargé de la valorisation et de la diffusion scientifique.

Institution(s) de rattachement

Membre du groupe de recherche

Institut Catholique de Paris - France

Islam et altérité (Paris)

Face aux crispations identitaires, aux flux migratoires, à la dégradation de l’image du monde musulman liée notamment aux exactions terroristes de Daesh et al-Qaida, le laboratoire de recherche de l’ISTR de Paris entend travailler la question de la capacité de l’islam à entretenir un rapport constructif et pacifique avec l’altérité, aussi bien au sein de […]

Chercheurs de ce groupe

localisation

Chargement ...

Ressources liées àSociologie

publication

L’action sociale musulmane en Europe. Engagement communautaire, contribution caritative et activisme religieux en France, en Suisse et en Grande-Bretagne

  • Baptiste Brodard

« En France comme dans d’autres pays européens, des associations musulmanes proposent des prestations caritatives incluant la distribution de colis alimentaires aux familles précaires, les ma...

publication

L’autorité en Islam. Quelle régulation ? Actes de colloque

  • Michel Younès
  • Ali Mostfa

On entend souvent dire : « pas de clergé en islam ». En l’absence d’une autorité magistérielle hiérarchique et universelle, quelles sont les instances et les figures qui font office de régulation ?...

article

Bad guy or good guy? The framing of an imam

  • Noemi Trucco

Dans cet article, nous étudions le cas d'un imam en Suisse. Nous avons effectué une analyse qualitative de 175 articles de journaux suisses et de sites Web de radiodiffusion publique en allemand et...

article

Rompre le ramadan au centre-ville. La présentation publique d’une association de jeunes musulmans

  • Guillaume Chatagny

Par Federico Biasca et Guillaume Chatagny "Cet article présente, décrit et analyse une rupture du jeûne organisée dans l’espace public par une association locale de jeunes musulmans en Suisse ro...

publication

L’Islam en prison : en quête de foi, liberté et fraternité

  • Mallory Schneuwly Purdie

« Sur la base de données originales recueillies auprès de 279 prisonniers musulmans et de 79 agents pénitentiaires, nous examinons comment les musulmans en viennent à être incarcérés, comment la pr...

videos

Entre banalisation et altérisation : être musulman au sein des armées françaises

  • Elyamine Settoul

Présente depuis le processus de colonisation, la question de l’Islam au sein des armées françaises a resurgi avec force avec la sédentarisation des populations issues des grandes vagues d'immig...

article

La prison comme expérience liminale du changement religieux

  • Mallory Schneuwly Purdie

Sous-titre : Une analyse des trajectoires religieuses de personnes détenues de confession musulmane Résumé : Depuis une vingtaine d’années, les prisons européennes font face à une augmentation ...

publication

Explorer le travail social islamique. Entre la communauté et le bien commun

  • Hansjörg Schmid

Ce livre en libre accès aborde, pour la première fois, le travail social islamique en tant que concept émergent à l’interface de la pensée islamique et des sciences sociales. En appliquant un...