Pluriel

University platform for research on Islam

Initiated by
the Federation
of European
Catholic
Universities

Supported by
the International
Federation
of Catholic
Universities

Alessandro Ferrari

Alessandro Ferrari is Professor of State Laws and Religions and Comparative Law of Religions at the University of Insubria (Varese and Como) and is the present director of REDESM. He is associated member of GSRL, the CNRS Research Group Sociétés, Religions, Laïcités (Paris) and of the Unité Mixte de Recherche Droit, Religion, Entreprise et Société of the Strasbourg University and CNRS. He is member of the coordination team of the PLURIEL Network. Since 2010 he has been member of the different Councils for the relations with Islam established at the Italian Home Ministry.

His research interests focus on the legal status of Muslims in Europe, the transformation of European secularism and the religious freedom across the two Mediterranean shores.

He has been Visiting Fellow at the Islamic Legal Studies Program of the Harvard Law School (2019), invited Directeur d’Études at the École Pratiques des Hautes Études (2018) and Roberta Buffett Visiting Scholar at the Northwestern University (2014). His current research project concerns the development of the right to religious freedom between the two Mediterranean shores read through the prism of the legal treatment of the “Muslim headscarf.” His publications are available at the page https://www.uninsubria.it/hpp/alessandro.ferrari

Member of the Research group

Università degli Studi dell’Insubria - Italy

Religioni, Diritti ed Economie nello Spazio Mediterraneo (REDESM) - Italy

Comparative study on religious freedom across the two Mediterranean shores (Como and Varese)

The Research Centre “Religion, Law and Economy in the Mediterranean Area” (“Religioni, Diritti ed Economie nello Spazio Mediterraneo” – REDESM), established within the University of Insubria, aims to foster and develop research, knowledge exchange and education projects related to religious pluralism in the Mediterranean area, with the objective of achieving a better mutual knowledge among different religions, cultures and societies living in this key geopolitical region.

Researchers of this group

Resources of this researcher

Location

Loading ...

Resources related to keywords

publication

The authoritarian republic. Islam in France and the Republican illusion

  • Haoues Seniguer

Publisher’s presentation The logic of suspicion has become the compass of the French state. Since 2015 and the attacks of January and November, the preventive and repressive policy of the Sta...

publication

MIDÉO No. 37: Recitation in the early centuries of Islam

  • Emmanuel Pisani

The history of reciting the Quran has been rarely studied. This volume comprises most of the papers presented at the Third IDEO Conference held in Cairo in October 2020 on reciting in the early Isl...

publication

Not without others: recognition of others and unity in Christ – on the relationship between mission and dialogue

  • Tobias Specker

Article published in the missiology journal ZMR 106 (2022/1-4), double issue: “Evangelisation and Fraternity in the Plural World

article

Jalal al-Din al-Suyuti and the Second Coming of Jesus in Islam

  • Antonio Cuciniello

"This article first provides an overall picture of Jesus in the Qur’anic Text, amongst the stories of the other prophets, his prophetic role during the mission God gave him on earth and at the End ...

article

Religion and Democracy

  • Wolfgang Palaver

"This article addresses mainly two widespread prejudices. The first claims that democracy flourishes only in a Christian culture, the second wants to keep religion out of politics to protect democr...

publication

Islam in Prison: Finding Faith, Freedom and Fraternity

  • Mallory Schneuwly Purdie

“Based on original evidence from 279 Muslim prisoners and 79 prison officers, we explore how Muslims come to be incarcerated, how the practice of Islam affects prison life and rehabilitation,...

article

Religious Radicalism. The Challenges of an Ill-Defined Concept in Europe

  • Mohamed-Ali Mostfa

Ali Mostfa, professor of linguistics and discourse analysis at the Catholic University of Lyon, analyses the semantic shifts about the notion of religious radicalism, particularly since the Septemb...

publication

Normativity of Holy Scriptures in Judaism, Christianity and Islam

  • Klaus von Stosch
  • Zishan Ahmad Ghaffar

In Judaism, Christianity and Islam, the orientation towards “holy texts” is central. While in the past it was undisputed that these texts could be understood as directly given by God an...

Hosted by

Pluriel

Initiated by

Pluriel

Supported by

Pluriel

Alessandro Ferrari

Alessandro Ferrari est Professeur de Droit de l’Etat et des Religions et de Droit Comparé des Religions à l’Université d’Insubrie (Varèse et Côme) et est l’actuel directeur du REDESM. Il est membre associé du GSRL, le Groupement de Recherche CNRS Sociétés, Religions, Laïcités (Paris) et de l’Unité Mixte de Recherche Droit, Religion, Entreprise et Société de l’Université de Strasbourg et du CNRS. Il est membre de la coordination du réseau PLURIEL. Depuis 2010, il est membre des différents Conseils pour les relations avec l’Islam établis auprès du Ministère de l’Intérieur italien.

Ses recherches portent sur le statut juridique des musulmans en Europe, la transformation de la laïcité européenne et la liberté religieuse entre les deux rives de la Méditerranée. Il a été Visiting Fellow au programme d’études juridiques islamiques de la Harvard Law School (2019), directeur d’études invité à l’École pratique des hautes études (2018) et Roberta Buffett Visiting Scholar à la Northwestern University (2014). Son projet de recherche actuel porte sur l’évolution du droit à la liberté religieuse entre les deux rives de la Méditerranée lue à travers le prisme du traitement juridique du « foulard musulman. » Ses publications sont disponibles sur la page https://www.uninsubria.it/hpp/alessandro.ferrari

 

Membre du groupe de recherche

Università degli Studi dell’Insubria - Italie

Religioni, Diritti ed Economie nello Spazio Mediterraneo (REDESM) - Italie

Étude comparative sur la liberté religieuse à travers les deux rives de la Méditerranée (Côme et Varèse)

Le Centre de recherche « Religion, droit et économie dans la région méditerranéenne » (« Religioni, Diritti ed Economie Nello Spazio Mediterraneo » – REDESM) , établi au sein de l’Université d’Insubria, vise à favoriser et à développer la recherche, l’échange de connaissances et les projets éducatifs liés au pluralisme religieux dans la région méditerranéenne, avec pour objectif de parvenir à une meilleure connaissance mutuelle entre les différentes religions, cultures et sociétés vivant dans cette région géopolitique importante.

Chercheurs de ce groupe

localisation

Chargement ...

Ressources liées àDroit

videos

La question de l´altérité en islam classique

  • Raja Sakrani

Argument : Comment les musulmans se représentaient-ils l’autre? Voici un questionnement surchargé d’histoire, de mémoire et d’identité islamique narrative difficile à décoder. Quatorze longs siècle...

videos

La question de l’altérité en islam classique | Répondants

  • Michaela Quast-Neulinger
  • Tobias Specker
  • Alessandro Ferrari

Suite à la conférence: "La question de l'altérité en islam classique" donnée par Raja SAKRANI, trois membres du comité scientifique du réseau PLURIEL donnent réponse selon les trois axes qui articu...

article

Le Ḏhimmī comme l’Autre dans les Convivencias d’al-Andalus

  • Raja Sakrani

Titre original : "The Ḏhimmī as the Other of Multiple Convivencias in al-Andalus" Résumé La figure du ḏhimmī (ndlr : sujet non musulman dans un État musulman) est certainement la figure juridiq...

article

La loi de l’Autre

  • Raja Sakrani

Titre original : "The Law of the Other" Résumé L'altérité étant indispensable à la construction de l'identité personnelle et collective, la question de l'Autre est intimement liée non seuleme...

videos

Qui fait figure d’autorité en islam en Suisse et en France ?

  • Haoues Seniguer
  • Erwin Tanner
  • Michel Younès

Éléments de réponses à une question étudiée par le groupe de recherche sur le thème "Autorité et régulation en islam" du Centre d'études des cultures et des religions (CECR, UCLy) La question e...

article

L’islam en Catalogne : un ancrage problématique

  • José Luis Llaquet de Entrambasaguas

Titre original : "El islam invertebrado en Cataluña: un anclaje problemático" Dans cet article, j'étudie la présence de l'islam dans l'histoire et le présent de la Catalogne, en analysant son ...

Couverture

publication

La gestion démocratique du pluralisme religieux et culturel : Que faire ?

La gestion démocratique du pluralisme religieux et culturel Le Liban en perspective arabe et comparée Collectif – Antoine Messara (dir.) L’ouvrage qui vient de paraître apporte une contributi...

publication

Actes du deuxième Congrès « Islam et appartenances » de Pluriel

Après son premier congrès international à Lyon du 6 au 9 septembre 2016 sur le thème « L’islam au pluriel : foi, pensée, société »[1], l’actuelle étude rassemble les actes du deuxième Congrès de PL...