Pluriel

University platform for research on Islam

Initiated by
the Federation
of European
Catholic
Universities

Supported by
the International
Federation
of Catholic
Universities

Amany Fouad Salib

Amany Fouad Salib is a researcher and doctoral student at the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) and an associate researcher at the Centre de recherche en immigration, ethnicité et citoyenneté (CRIEC) at UQAM. A former lecturer at the University of Ain Chams in Egypt, her current research focuses on the construction of otherness in Islamism; the analysis of the discourse of the contemporary Islamic fundamentalist movement: its theorists, its dogmatic foundations and its socio-political impact; Islamic jihad: media discourse, theory and praxis; stereotypes (Islamic radicalism/West and vice versa) as well as the challenges of integrating Muslim communities into immigrant lands. She recently published (2014) “La réception de la Charte des valeurs québécoises par le leadership de la communauté musulmane chiite au Québec. Enjeux de citoyenneté et d’intégration”, in M. Labelle et al., dir, Actes du colloque interdisciplinaire et international d’étudiants et de nouveaux chercheurs, in collaboration with the Institut des Études internationales de Montréal, Université du Québec à Montréal (Les Cahiers du CRIEC 36), pp. 34-63.

Member of the Research group

Université de Montréal - Canada

Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) - Canada

Epistemological and methodological issues in studies on violence in the name of Islam (Montreal)

This group aims to provide food for thought on the following questions: Are the available conceptual and epistemological methods and tools adequate enough to decipher the specific and complex discourses, practices and developments related to the use of violence in the name of Islam? Isn’t new research imperative to enrich our understanding of this phenomenon, to redress perspectives, to fill current gaps and to deconstruct widespread prejudices?

Researchers of this group

Location

Loading ...

Resources related toCitizenship

publication

The secular movement in Lebanon 2006-2019

  • Amin Elias

It was in 2006 that the secular idea (al-‘almâniyya), which the master Boutros al-Bustanî forged in 1861 in his journal Nafîr Sûriyâ, took a political and militant form, when a number of acti...

videos

Rethinking the Muslim-Christian living together in Lebanon / Amin Elias

  • Amin Elias

On the eve of the first centenary of the proclamation of the State of Greater Lebanon (September 1, 1920), this intervention proposes to expose and analyse the position of Muslims in Lebanon toward...

videos

The Question of Otherness in Classical Islam | Respondents

Following the lecture: "The question of Otherness in Classical Islam" given by Raja SAKRANI, three members of the scientific committee of the PLURIEL network give answers according to the three axe...

article

The Ḏhimmī as the Other of Multiple Convivencias in al-Andalus

  • Raja Sakrani

The figure of ḏhimmī is certainly the most emblematic juristic figure in the history of Islamic law. Strangely, it also has the juristic status of being the most ambiguous and complex, as it lacks a ...

videos

The Struggle of Identity Politics in India

  • Alam Anwar

On the 24th of July 2018, the Australian Intercultural Society (AIS) hosted a conversation with Professor Anwar Alam of the Policy Perspectives Foundation from New Delhi, India on the topic of ‘the...

Couverture

publication

La gestion démocratique du pluralisme religieux et culturel : Que faire ?

  • Antoine Messara

La gestion démocratique du pluralisme religieux et culturel Le Liban en perspective arabe et comparée Collectif - Antoine Messara (dir.) L’ouvrage qui vient de paraître apporte une contributio...

videos

Retrospective: Congress 2018 “Islam and Belonging”:

Retrospective on the Second International Congress of PLURIEL that has been held at the Pontifical Gregorian University in Roma, in June 2018, on the theme "Islam and Belonging". Excerpts of con...

publication

Islam and democracy

  • Anja Zalta

Number 85-86 of the scientific journal “POLIGRAFI” about “Islam and Democracy” It is co-edited by Anja ZALTA, who gave a speech titled ““House of agreement” – Th...

Pluriel

Plateforme universitaire de recherche sur l’islam

Initiée par la
fédération
des universités
catholiques
européennes

Soutenue par
la fédération
internationale
des universités
catholiques

Amany Fouad Salib

Amany Fouad Salib est chercheuse et doctorante à l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) et chercheuse associée au Centre de recherche en immigration, ethnicité et citoyenneté (CRIEC) de l’UQAM. Ex-maître de conférences à l’Université d’Ain Chams en Égypte, ses recherches actuelles portent sur la construction de l’altérité dans l’islamisme ; l’analyse du discours de la mouvance fondamentaliste islamique contemporaine : ses théoriciens, ses fondements dogmatiques et son impact socio-politique ; le djihad islamique : discours médiatique, théorie et praxis ; les stéréotypes (radicalisme islamique/Occident et vice versa) ainsi que les enjeux de l’intégration des communautés musulmanes en terre d’immigration. Elle a récemment publié (2014) « La réception de la Charte des valeurs québécoises par le leadership de la communauté musulmane chiite au Québec. Enjeux de citoyenneté et d’intégration », dans M. Labelle et al., dir., Actes du colloque interdisciplinaire et international d’étudiants et de nouveaux chercheurs, en collaboration avec l’Institut des Études internationales de Montréal, Université du Québec à Montréal (Les Cahiers du CRIEC 36), p. 34-63.

Membre du groupe de recherche

Université de Montréal - Canada

Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) - Canada

Enjeux épistémologiques et méthodologiques des études sur la violence au nom de l’islam (Montréal)

Ce groupe vise à offrir des pistes de réflexion sur les questions suivantes : Les méthodes et les outils conceptuels et épistémologiques disponibles sont-ils suffisamment adéquats pour déchiffrer les discours, les pratiques et les évolutions spécifiques et complexes liés au recours à la violence au nom de l’islam ? De nouvelles recherches ne sont-elles pas impératives pour enrichir notre compréhension de ce phénomène, redresser les perspectives, combler les lacunes actuelles en la matière et déconstruire des préjugés largement répandus ?

Chercheurs de ce groupe

localisation

Chargement ...

Ressources liées àCitoyenneté

videos

L´autre dans la civilisation islamique : entre l’immanence des cultures et la transcendance divine

  • Raja Sakrani

Conférence donnée lors du 3è congrès international de Pluriel sur le thème "Islam et altérité", le 24 mai 2022, à l'Université Saint joseph de Beyrouth. Quelle est cette fascination secrète pour...

publication

Le mouvement laïc au Liban 2006-2019

  • Amin Elias

C’est en 2006 que l’idée laïque (al-‘almâniyya), dont le maître Boutros al-Boustanî a forgée en 1861 dans sa revue Nafîr Sûriyâ, prenne une forme politique et militante, quand un nombre de militant...

videos

Repenser le vivre-ensemble Chrétiens-Musulmans au Liban

  • Amin Elias

À la veille du premier centenaire de la proclamation de l’Etat du Grand Liban (le premier septembre 1920), cette intervention propose d’exposer et analyser la position des musulmans au Liban à l’ég...

videos

La question de l’altérité en islam classique | Répondants

  • Michaela Quast-Neulinger
  • Tobias Specker
  • Alessandro Ferrari

Suite à la conférence: "La question de l'altérité en islam classique" donnée par Raja SAKRANI, trois membres du comité scientifique du réseau PLURIEL donnent réponse selon les trois axes qui articu...

article

Le Ḏhimmī comme l’Autre dans les Convivencias d’al-Andalus

  • Raja Sakrani

Titre original : "The Ḏhimmī as the Other of Multiple Convivencias in al-Andalus" Résumé La figure du ḏhimmī (ndlr : sujet non musulman dans un État musulman) est certainement la figure juridiq...

publication

Les étudiants musulmans à l’école

  • Antonio Cuciniello

Titre original : « Studenti musulmani a scuola » Quelles questions les enfants et les jeunes, en particulier la « deuxième génération », qui pratiquent la religion islamique, posent-ils aux écoles ...

videos

La lutte de la politique identitaire en Inde

  • Anwar Alam

Titre original : "The Struggle of Identity Politics in India" Le 24 juillet 2018, l'Australian Intercultural Society (AIS) a organisé une conversation avec le professeur Anwar Alam de la Policy ...

Couverture

publication

La gestion démocratique du pluralisme religieux et culturel : Que faire ?

  • Antoine Messara

La gestion démocratique du pluralisme religieux et culturel Le Liban en perspective arabe et comparée Collectif – Antoine Messara (dir.) L’ouvrage qui vient de paraître apporte une contributi...