Pluriel

University platform for research on Islam

Initiated by
the Federation
of European
Catholic
Universities

Supported by
the International
Federation
of Catholic
Universities

David Marshall

After studying theology at Oxford University David Marshall gained a doctorate in Islamic studies at Birmingham University. He has since worked in a variety of contexts, including as Chaplain to the Archbishop of Canterbury from 2000 to 2005, where he had responsibility for interfaith relations. In 2002 he helped launch the Building Bridges Seminar, one of the world’s leading projects in theological dialogue between Muslim and Christian scholars, and has been involved in this project ever since. Since 2012, Building Bridges has been directed from Georgetown University, where Marshall is a research fellow at the Berkley Center for Religion, Peace, and World Affairs. Much of his work has been in the field of theological education. He has taught at St Paul’s University (Limuru, Kenya), Edinburgh University, Duke Divinity School, and Georgetown University.

From 2018-2021 he served as programme executive in interreligious dialogue and co-operation at the World Council of Churches in Geneva, with particular responsibility for Christian-Jewish and Christian-Muslim relations.

Currently, he teaches at the Institut für Christkatholische Theologie, Theology Faculty, University of Bern, Switzerland; and he is guest editor of the journal Islamochristiana (PISAI, Rome).

Location

Loading ...

Resources related toQuranic Studies

videos

Unity of God and unity in God – a possible perspective and way of dialogue between the believers?

  • Vanessa Breidy

A shῑ‘ῑ perspective of dialogue developed by D. Mohammad Ali Shomali. Talking about unity between believers and calling them to act upon it is not new in Islam. The Qur’ān and the early history o...

videos

The Quran of Historians

  • Mohammad Ali Amir-Moezzi

How is historical research on the Qur'an received in the Muslim world? What do we know about the historical figure of Muhammad? Interview with Mohammad Ali Amir-Moezzi, co-director of the “Qur'an o...

videos

Islam and the Salvation of non- Muslims: The Qur’anic Perspective

  • Gabriel Said Reynolds

"At the Pluriel conference on “Islam and Otherness” I will argue the Qur’an’s emphasis on divine freedom provides an opening for inclusivism. The Qur’an emphasizes God’s mercy, using al-Raḥmān as a...

videos

Otherness And Spatial Dimension In The Arabic Language And Culture

  • Mohamed-Ali Mostfa

Etymologically, the noun âkhar from the verb âkhara, rather draws the action of postponing, أَخَّرَ العَمَلَ, or temporarily deprogramming an action. al-âkhar on some other hand does not establish ...

article

Islamic Hermeneutics of Nonviolence: Key Concepts and Methodological Steps

  • Adnane Mokrani

The article traces the key concepts and methodological steps that make an Islamic theology of nonviolence plausible. It offers the tools for a critical reading of classical texts, “sacred” history,...

article

Environmentalism and sustainability as an expression of Islamic moral orientation

  • Ida Zilio-Grandi

Abstract : The essay emphasizes cultural specificities, starting with the terminology currently used to describe sustainability, and investigates the lack of homogeneity of the semantic fields bel...

videos

Authority according to the Qur’an and the authority of the Qur’an: from model to realisation

  • Geneviève Gobillot

Conference « Religious Authority in Islam », organised by the Centre for the Study of Cultures and Religions and the Research Unit of the Catholic University of Lyon (UCLy), on 18 and 19 November 2...

article

Violence and Jihad in Islam: From the War of Words to the Clashes of Definitions

  • Mohamed-Ali Mostfa

This article explores the phenomena of violence and jihad in three parts: their emergence and trajectory in the Qur’anic text, their meanings, and their entanglement with the religious cause. The o...

Pluriel

Plateforme universitaire de recherche sur l’islam

Initiée par la
fédération
des universités
catholiques
européennes

Soutenue par
la fédération
internationale
des universités
catholiques

David Marshall

Après avoir étudié la théologie à l’université d’Oxford, David Marshall a obtenu un doctorat en études islamiques à l’université de Birmingham. Il a depuis travaillé dans divers contextes, notamment en tant qu’aumônier de l’archevêque de Canterbury de 2000 à 2005, où il était responsable des relations interconfessionnelles. En 2002, il a contribué au lancement du séminaire Building Bridges, l’un des principaux projets mondiaux de dialogue théologique entre universitaires musulmans et chrétiens, et n’a cessé de s’impliquer dans ce projet depuis. Depuis 2012, Building Bridges est piloté depuis l’université de Georgetown, où Marshall est chargé de recherche au Berkley Center for Religion, Peace, and World Affairs. Une grande partie de son travail a porté sur l’éducation théologique. Il a enseigné à l’université St Paul (Limuru, Kenya), à l’université d’Édimbourg, à la Duke Divinity School et à l’université de Georgetown.

De 2018 à 2021, il a occupé le poste de responsable de programme en matière de dialogue interreligieux et de coopération au Conseil œcuménique des Églises à Genève, avec une responsabilité particulière pour les relations entre chrétiens et juifs et entre chrétiens et musulmans.

Actuellement, il enseigne à l’Institut für Christkatholische Theologie, Faculté de théologie, Université de Berne, Suisse ; et il est rédacteur invité de la revue Islamochristiana (PISAI, Rome).

localisation

Chargement ...

Ressources liées àEtudes coraniques

videos

L’ailleurs et l’altérité dans la langue et la culture arabe

  • Ali Mostfa

Étymologiquement, le nom âkhar du verbe âkhara, dessine plutôt l’action d’ajournement, أَخَّرَ العَمَلَ, ou de déprogrammation provisoire d’une action. al-âkhar par ailleurs n’instaure pas une rela...

videos

L’unité de Dieu et l’unité en Dieu – une perspective possible et une voie de dialogue entre les croyants ?

  • Vanessa Breidy

Une perspective chiite du dialogue développée par D. Mohammad Ali Shomali. Parler d'unité entre les croyants et les appeler à agir en conséquence n'est pas nouveau en Islam. Le Coran et les début...

videos

Le Coran des historiens

  • Mohammad Ali Amir-Moezzi

Comment les recherches historiques sur le Coran sont-elles reçues dans le monde musulman ? Que sait-on du personnage historique de Muhammad ? Entretien avec Mohammad Ali Amir-Moezzi, co-directeur d...

videos

L’islam et le salut des non-musulmans : la perspective coranique

  • Gabriel Said Reynolds

Lors du congrès de Pluriel sur le thème "Islam et altérité, Gabriel Said Reynolds défend la thèse que le Coran insiste sur le fait que la liberté donnée par Dieu ouvre une perspective inclusiviste....

article

Herméneutique islamique de la non-violence : Concepts clés et étapes méthodologiques

  • Adnane Mokrani

Titre original : "Islamic Hermeneutics of Nonviolence: Key Concepts and Methodological Steps" Cet article retrace les concepts clés et les étapes méthodologiques qui rendent plausible une théolo...

article

Écologie et développement durable comme expression de l’orientation morale islamique

  • Ida Zilio-Grandi

Titre original : "Environmentalism and sustainability as an expression of Islamic moral orientation" Résumé non disponible en français.  

videos

L’autorité selon le Coran et l’autorité du Coran : du modèle à sa réalisation

  • Geneviève Gobillot

Colloque « L’autorité religieuse en islam », organisé par le Centre d’études des cultures et des religions et l’Unité de recherche de l’Université catholique de Lyon (UCLy), les 18 et 19 novembre 2...

article

Violence et djihad dans l’islam : De la guerre des mots aux chocs de définitions

  • Ali Mostfa

Cet article explore les phénomènes de la violence et du djihad en trois parties : leur émergence et leur trajectoire dans le texte coranique, leurs significations, et leur intrication avec la cause...