Pluriel

University platform for research on Islam

Initiated by
the Federation
of European
Catholic
Universities

Supported by
the International
Federation
of Catholic
Universities

Bénédicte Du Chaffaut

As a participant in the Islam studies laboratory of the Centre for the Study of Cultures and Religions for many years, I find it interesting to have a real interdisciplinary approach in a team that brings together Islamic theologians, sociologists and political science researchers.

As a sociologist and theologian specialising in Islam studies, I am concerned about the intersection between academic discourse and field observation. Having long represented France within the Islam Council of Europe, I am interested in the changes in Islam in Europe, in particular the evolution of the status of women.

 

Member of the Research group

Université catholique de Lyon - France

Centre d'études des cultures et des religions, UCLy - France

Authority and Regulation in Islam (Lyon)

After a research programme on religious, Islamic and Biblical fundamentalism, and a deconstructivist approach to fundamentalism, we thought it was important to approach the notion of authority in link with religion, especially in Islamic context. Persons with authority or identified places of authority are not a simple process. This is all the more true in the Sunni Muslim tradition, the absence of a designation by the Prophet of an institution willing to regulate the religious questions will open the way to a plurality of modalities that may be of theological or theological-political nature.

Researchers of this group

Member of the Research group

Université catholique de Lyon - France

Religious fundamentalism (Closed)

The research group seeks to clarify the mechanisms of fundamentalism and its various expressions. Very often, ideological and ritualistic orders are so interwoven that they lead to community identifications.

Researchers of this group

Resources of this researcher

Location

Loading ...

Resources related toWomen in Islam

Pluriel

Plateforme universitaire de recherche sur l’islam

Initiée par la
fédération
des universités
catholiques
européennes

Soutenue par
la fédération
internationale
des universités
catholiques

Bénédicte du Chaffaut

Participant au laboratoire d’islamologie du Centre d’Etudes des Cultures et des religions depuis de nombreuses années, j’y trouve l’intérêt d’une véritable  interdisciplinarité dans une équipe qui réunit des théologiens islamologues, des  sociologues, des chercheurs en science politique.

Comme sociologue et théologienne spécialisée en islamologie, j’y suis soucieuse des croisements entre propos académiques et observation de terrain. Pour avoir longtemps représenté la France au sein du Conseil Islam Europe, je suis ,de fait ,intéressée par les mutations de l’islam en Europe, en particulier par l’évolution du statut des femmes.

Membre du groupe de recherche

Université catholique de Lyon - France

Centre d'études des cultures et des religions, UCLy - France

Autorité et régulation en islam (Lyon)

Après un travail sur le fondamentalisme religieux, islamique et biblique, et une réflexion sur la déconstruction du fondamentalisme, il nous a paru important de revenir sur la notion de l’autorité en matière de religion, surtout dans sa dimension islamique. Être dépositaire d’une autorité ou être reconnu comme lieu d’autorité n’est pas un processus simple. Cela est d’autant plus vrai que dans la tradition musulmane sunnite, l’absence d’une désignation par le prophète de l’islam d’une institution disposée à réguler la question religieuse ouvrira la voie à une pluralité de modalités pouvant être de nature théologique ou théologico-politique.

Chercheurs de ce groupe

Membre du groupe de recherche

Université catholique de Lyon - France

Le fondamentalisme religieux (Clôturé)

Le groupe cherche à clarifier les mécanismes du fondamentalisme et ses différentes expressions. Très souvent l’idéologie et la pratique ritualiste s’entrecroisent, donnant lieu à des formes d’affichage identitaire et communautariste. La dimension prosélyte est une des conséquences d’une recherche d’appartenance qui encadre et rassure dans un contexte de crise d’identité et de tensions supposés ou […]

Chercheurs de ce groupe

Ressources du chercheur sur ce site

localisation

Chargement ...

Ressources liées àFemmes en islam