Pluriel

University platform for research on Islam

Initiated by
the Federation
of European
Catholic
Universities

Supported by
the International
Federation
of Catholic
Universities

Yosra Garmi

Yosra Garmi, Doctor in Arab Studies from the Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon, is a specialist in the history of medieval philosophy.
She has taught philosophy in secondary and higher education establishments and has collaborated in the organisation of numerous events on Arab thought. Her publications include articles on Farabi and falsafa.

 

Member of the Research group

Université catholique de Lyon - France

Islam and Otherness: Contextualizations, Transformations, and Influences

From a cross-section of dogmas, discourses, doctrines and reference texts, the contributions aim to examine, from a specific angle of approach (philosophical, theological, political, religious, anthropological, historical), the plurality of forms, places and angles of thought that make it possible to consider the normative values that govern the relationship with the other.

Researchers of this group

Member of the Research group

Université catholique de Lyon - France

Centre d'études des cultures et des religions, UCLy - France

Authority and Regulation in Islam (Lyon)

After a research programme on religious, Islamic and Biblical fundamentalism, and a deconstructivist approach to fundamentalism, we thought it was important to approach the notion of authority in link with religion, especially in Islamic context. Persons with authority or identified places of authority are not a simple process. This is all the more true in the Sunni Muslim tradition, the absence of a designation by the Prophet of an institution willing to regulate the religious questions will open the way to a plurality of modalities that may be of theological or theological-political nature.

Researchers of this group

Resources of this researcher

Location

Loading ...

Resources related toPhilosophy

videos

The 19th century as a new ‘axial era’. Some epistemological aspects of the authority crisis

  • Michaela Quast-Neulinger

Conference « Religious Authority in Islam », organised by the Centre for the Study of Cultures and Religions and the Research Unit of the Catholic University of Lyon (UCLy), on 18 and 19 November 2...

videos

Education And Otherness: What are the Issues in a Context of Diversity?

  • Salim Daccache

In the era of the continuous call for the adoption of citizenship and living together (al Azhar declaration March 2017) and human brotherhood and common coexistence (Abu Dhabi document February 201...

videos

Islam and Christianity: mutual views and challenges of otherness

  • Michel Younès

In his book Soi-même comme un autre (Seuil 1990), the French philosopher Paul Ricoeur (1913-2005) builds his reflection on this 'as' which, according to him, allows us to escape from two harmful te...

videos

Thinking Islam in Europe

  • Alberto Fabio Ambrosio

Interview with Alberto F. Ambrosio, dominican friar, professor of Theology and Histpry of Religions at the Luxembourg School of Religion & Society. Reporter : Raphaël Georgy With the collabor...

videos

Radical evil and the Canadian multiculturalist otherness

  • Mounia Ait Kabboura

The "radical evil" that tore Europe apart in the 20th century was totalitarianism (Hannah Arendt). Today, this evil has been reincarnated into a barbaric radicalisation that undermines societies. T...

videos

Otherness and nationalisms, the threat of identity to openness

  • Antoine Fleyfel

This talk addresses the issue of Islam and otherness from the perspective of Christians in the Middle East. At the heart of the multiple constructions of identity since the mid-nineteenth century i...

videos

Religious authority and its contestation according to Mohammad Talbi

  • Yosra Garmi

Conference « Religious Authority in Islam », organised by the Centre for the Study of Cultures and Religions and the Research Unit of the Catholic University of Lyon (UCLy), on 18 and 19 November 2...

videos

Philosophical mediation, the case of al-Fārābī

  • Yosra Garmi

Lecture given on 14 October 2021 at the Catholic University of Lyon during the conference « Radicalisation leading to violence in the name of Islam, Epistemological, methodological and ethical appr...

Pluriel

Plateforme universitaire de recherche sur l’islam

Initiée par la
fédération
des universités
catholiques
européennes

Soutenue par
la fédération
internationale
des universités
catholiques

Yosra Garmi

Yosra Garmi, docteure en Etudes Arabes de l’Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon, est spécialiste en histoire de la philosophie médiévale.
Elle a enseigné la philosophie dans des établissements secondaires et supérieurs et a collaboré à la tenue de nombreux événements sur la pensée arabe. Parmi ses publications, on dénombre des articles sur Farabi et la falsafa.

 

Membre du groupe de recherche

Université catholique de Lyon - France

Islam et altérité : contextualisations, transformations, influences

À partir des regards croisés qui mobilisent les dogmes, les discours, les doctrines et les textes de référence, les contributions visent à examiner, suivant un angle d’approche spécifique (philosophique, théologique, politique, religieuse, anthropologique, historique) la pluralité des formes, des lieux et des angles de pensées permettant de considérer les valeurs normatives qui régissent le rapport à l’autre.

Chercheurs de ce groupe

Membre du groupe de recherche

Université catholique de Lyon - France

Centre d'études des cultures et des religions, UCLy - France

Autorité et régulation en islam (Lyon)

Après un travail sur le fondamentalisme religieux, islamique et biblique, et une réflexion sur la déconstruction du fondamentalisme, il nous a paru important de revenir sur la notion de l’autorité en matière de religion, surtout dans sa dimension islamique. Être dépositaire d’une autorité ou être reconnu comme lieu d’autorité n’est pas un processus simple. Cela est d’autant plus vrai que dans la tradition musulmane sunnite, l’absence d’une désignation par le prophète de l’islam d’une institution disposée à réguler la question religieuse ouvrira la voie à une pluralité de modalités pouvant être de nature théologique ou théologico-politique.

Chercheurs de ce groupe

Ressources du chercheur sur ce site

localisation

Chargement ...

Ressources liées àPhilosophie

videos

Education et altérité: quels enjeux dans un contexte de pluralité ?

  • Salim Daccache

A l’ère de l’appel continu à l’adoption de la citoyenneté et du vivre ensemble (déclaration d’al Azhar mars 2017) et de la fraternité humaine et de la coexistence commune (document d’Abu Dhabi fé...

videos

Islam et christianisme : regards mutuels et enjeux d’altérité

  • Michel Younès

Dans son livre Soi-même comme un autre (Seuil 1990), le philosophe français Paul Ricoeur (1913-2005) construit sa réflexion à partir de ce « comme » qui permet selon lui d’échapper à deux tendances...

videos

Le mal radical qui menace l’altérité multiculturaliste canadienne

  • Mounia Ait Kabboura

Le « mal radical » qui a déchiré l'Europe au XXe siècle était le totalitarisme (Hannah Arendt). De nos jours, ce mal s'est réincarné en une radicalisation barbare qui fragilise les sociétés. Le mal...

videos

Altérité et nationalismes, l’ouverture au risque de l’identité

  • Antoine Fleyfel

Cette intervention aborde la question de l’islam et de l’altérité à partir de la perspective des chrétiens du Proche-Orient. Au cœur des multiples constructions identitaires depuis la moitié d...

videos

Penser l’islam en Europe

  • Alberto Fabio Ambrosio

Entretien avec Alberto F. Ambrosio, dominicain, professeur de théologie et histoire des religions à la Luxembourg School of Religion & Society Journaliste : Raphaël Georgy Avec la collabo...

videos

L’autorité religieuse et sa contestation selon Mohammad Talbi

  • Yosra Garmi

Colloque « L’autorité religieuse en islam », organisé par le Centre d’études des cultures et des religions et l’Unité de recherche de l’Université catholique de Lyon (UCLy), les 18 et 19 novembre 2...

videos

Le 19ème siècle comme nouvelle “ère axiale”. Quelques aspects épistémologiques de la crise d’autorité

  • Michaela Quast-Neulinger

Colloque « L’autorité religieuse en islam », organisé par le Centre d’études des cultures et des religions et l’Unité de recherche de l’Université catholique de Lyon (UCLy), les 18 et 19 novembre 2...

videos

La médiation philosophique, le cas d’al-Fārābī

  • Yosra Garmi

Conférence donnée le 14 octobre 2021 à l’Université catholique de Lyon lors du colloque « La radicalisation menant à la violence au nom de l’Islam, Approches et enjeux épistémologiques, méthodologi...