Pluriel

University platform for research on Islam

Initiated by
the Federation
of European
Catholic
Universities

Supported by
the International
Federation
of Catholic
Universities

Wael Saleh

Wael Saleh completed his thesis in Applied Human Sciences (Political Science and Islamic Studies) at the Université de Montréal in 2017. His thesis focused on the continuities, evolutions and ruptures in the conception of the state through the prism of the link between the religious and the political in modern and contemporary Egyptian thought. He is co-founder and director of the Institute for Post-Spring Arab Studies (IEPPA). Wael Saleh’s research interests include the history and geopolitics of religio-political ideas in the Arab world; contemporary Egypt; political Islam; epistemological and methodological issues of violence in the name of Islam, identities and conflicts in the Middle East; analysis of media and academic works on the Arab world.

He is co-founder of the Interdisciplinary Observatory of Islamist Movements (OIMI) at the CRC-IPG (Canada Research Chair Islam, Pluralism and Globalization), Université de Montréal; and associate researcher at the Observatory on the Middle East and North Africa, Raoul-Dandurand Chair in Strategic and Diplomatic Studies, Université du Québec à Montréal.

Member of the Research group

Université de Montréal - Canada

Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) - Canada

Epistemological and methodological issues in studies on violence in the name of Islam (Montreal)

This group aims to provide food for thought on the following questions: Are the available conceptual and epistemological methods and tools adequate enough to decipher the specific and complex discourses, practices and developments related to the use of violence in the name of Islam? Isn’t new research imperative to enrich our understanding of this phenomenon, to redress perspectives, to fill current gaps and to deconstruct widespread prejudices?

Researchers of this group

Resources of this researcher

Location

Loading ...

Resources related toIslamism

videos

The representation of non-Islamist Muslims in Sunni Islamist discourse

  • Wael Saleh

Full lecture title : 'The representation of non-Islamist Muslims in Sunni Islamist discourse: an intra-religious otherness?' In what ways do non-Brother Muslims (especially secular, liberal and ...

videos

Radical evil and the Canadian multiculturalist otherness

  • Mounia Ait Kabboura

The "radical evil" that tore Europe apart in the 20th century was totalitarianism (Hannah Arendt). Today, this evil has been reincarnated into a barbaric radicalisation that undermines societies. T...

videos

Islamists and international relations

  • Mohamed-Ali Adraoui

Full title of the conference: "Islamists and International Relations. What worldview? What diplomatic practices? Emergence, evolution and amendment of a culturalist and antagonistic theory of world...

videos

Fundamental and applied Islamology

  • Michel Younès

Lecture given on 14 October 2021 at the Catholic University of Lyon during the conference « Radicalisation leading to violence in the name of Islam, Epistemological, methodological and ethical appr...

videos

From Applied Islamology to Applied Islamismology

  • Patrice Brodeur
  • Wael Saleh

Lecture given on 14 October 2021 at the Catholic University of Lyon during the conference "Radicalisation leading to violence in the name of Islam, Epistemological, methodological and ethical appro...

article

Violence and Jihad in Islam: From the War of Words to the Clashes of Definitions

  • Mohamed-Ali Mostfa

This article explores the phenomena of violence and jihad in three parts: their emergence and trajectory in the Qur’anic text, their meanings, and their entanglement with the religious cause. The o...

publication

Violence in Early Islam. Religious Narratives, the Arab Conquests and the Canonization of Jihad

  • Marco Demichelis

Presentation: The concept of jihad holds a prominent place in Islamic thought and history. Beyond its spiritual meanings, the term has historically been associated with the sweeping Arab-Believers ...

publication

The (neo) Muslim Brothers and the new capitalist spirit

  • Haoues Seniguer

-

Pluriel

Plateforme universitaire de recherche sur l’islam

Initiée par la
fédération
des universités
catholiques
européennes

Soutenue par
la fédération
internationale
des universités
catholiques

Wael Saleh

Wael Saleh a complété sa thèse en sciences humaines appliquées (Sciences politiques et études islamiques) à l’Université de Montréal en 2017. Celle-ci s’intéressait aux continuités, évolutions et ruptures dans la conception de l’État au prisme du lien entre le religieux et le politique dans la pensée égyptienne moderne et contemporaine. Il est cofondateur et directeur de l’Institut d’études post-printemps arabe (IEPPA). Les intérêts de recherche de Waël Saleh portent sur l’histoire et la géopolitique des idées religio-politiques dans le monde arabe; Égypte contemporaine; islam politique; enjeux épistémologiques et méthodologiques de la violence au nom de l’islam, identités et conflits au Moyen-Orient; analyses des travaux médiatiques et académiques sur le monde arabe.

Il est cofondateur de l’Observatoire Interdisciplinaire des Mouvements Islamistes (OIMI) à la CRC-IPG (Chaire de recherche du Canada Islam, pluralisme et globalisation), Université de Montréal ; et chercheur associé à l’Observatoire sur le Moyen-Orient et l’Afrique du Nord, Chaire Raoul-Dandurand en études stratégiques et diplomatiques, Université du Québec à Montréal.

Membre du groupe de recherche

Université de Montréal - Canada

Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) - Canada

Enjeux épistémologiques et méthodologiques des études sur la violence au nom de l’islam (Montréal)

Ce groupe vise à offrir des pistes de réflexion sur les questions suivantes : Les méthodes et les outils conceptuels et épistémologiques disponibles sont-ils suffisamment adéquats pour déchiffrer les discours, les pratiques et les évolutions spécifiques et complexes liés au recours à la violence au nom de l’islam ? De nouvelles recherches ne sont-elles pas impératives pour enrichir notre compréhension de ce phénomène, redresser les perspectives, combler les lacunes actuelles en la matière et déconstruire des préjugés largement répandus ?

Chercheurs de ce groupe

Ressources du chercheur sur ce site

localisation

Chargement ...

Ressources liées àIslamisme

videos

Représentations des musulmans non islamistes dans le discours islamiste sunnite

  • Wael Saleh

Titre intégral de la conférence : "Représentations des musulmans non islamistes dans le discours islamiste sunnite : une altérité intra-religieuse ?" De quelle manière les musulmans non frériste...

videos

Le mal radical qui menace l’altérité multiculturaliste canadienne

  • Mounia Ait Kabboura

Le « mal radical » qui a déchiré l'Europe au XXe siècle était le totalitarisme (Hannah Arendt). De nos jours, ce mal s'est réincarné en une radicalisation barbare qui fragilise les sociétés. Le mal...

videos

Les islamistes et les relations internationales

  • Mohamed-Ali Adraoui

Titre intégral de la conférence : "Les islamistes et les relations internationales. Quelle vision du monde ? Quelles pratiques diplomatiques ? Émergence, évolution et amendement d’une théorie cultu...

videos

Islamologie fondamentale et islamologie appliquée

  • Michel Younès

Conférence donnée le 14 octobre 2021 à l’Université catholique de Lyon lors du colloque “La radicalisation menant à la violence au nom de l’Islam, Approches et enjeux épistémologiques, méthodologiq...

videos

De l’islamologie appliquée à l’islamismologie appliquée

  • Patrice Brodeur
  • Wael Saleh

Conférence donnée le 14 octobre 2021 à l'Université catholique de Lyon lors du colloque "La radicalisation menant à la violence au nom de l’Islam, Approches et enjeux épistémologiques, méthodologiq...

article

Violence et djihad dans l’islam : De la guerre des mots aux chocs de définitions

  • Ali Mostfa

Cet article explore les phénomènes de la violence et du djihad en trois parties : leur émergence et leur trajectoire dans le texte coranique, leurs significations, et leur intrication avec la cause...

publication

La violence dans l’Islam primitif. Les récits religieux, les conquêtes arabes et la canonisation du Jihad

  • Marco Demichelis

Titre original : Violence in Early Islam. Religious Narratives, the Arab Conquests and the Canonization of Jihad Présentation: Le concept de jihad occupe une place de choix dans la pensée et l&rsqu...

publication

Les (neo) freres musulmans et le nouvel esprit capitaliste

  • Haoues Seniguer

Le capitalisme ou le nouvel esprit capitaliste (qu’il soit d’orientation néo-libérale ou libérale) est incontestablement un rouleau compresseur. Rien ne semble pouvoir l’arrêter ni même lui résiste...