Pluriel

University platform for research on Islam

Initiated by
the Federation
of European
Catholic
Universities

Supported by
the International
Federation
of Catholic
Universities

Christian Troll

After studying philosophy and theology in Tübingen and Bonn (1957-1961), he studied Arabic at the University of St Joseph in Beirut (1961-1963). After entering the Jesuit order and the Jesuit basic training, he studied at the School of Oriental and African Studies of the University of London from 1966 onwards, where he obtained an honours degree in Urdu literature in 1970 and a doctorate in 1975 with a thesis on modern Islam. In 2001 he was appointed to the Philosophical and Theological University of Sankt Georgen in Frankfurt am Main as an honorary professor. He retired in 2007.

Until 2005, Troll was a member of the Pontifical Commission for Religious Relations with Muslims, part of the Pontifical Council for Interreligious Dialogue (PCID), for twelve years. He is considered an eminent scholar of Islam. Pope Benedict XVI appointed him in 2008 as one of the scientists who – at the invitation of 138 Islamic scholars – collaborate in the Catholic-Islamic Forum. In addition, Troll is a member of the German Bishops’ Conference’s sub-commission for interreligious dialogue and an advisor to the Bishops’ Office CIBEDO.

He is co-author with Tobias Specker, SJ, of the book that gave rise to the website in German: “Muslims ask, Christians answer.”
 

Member of the Research group

Philosophisch-Theologische Hochschule Sankt Georgen - Germany

Catholic Theology in dialogue with Islam (Frankfurt)

Catholic theology in Europe is increasingly confronted with the questions and criticisms of Muslim intellectuals who, in particular, point out the convergences between the two religions. The research project aims to perceive this new context of theology, to analyse it carefully, and to reformulate the potentials of the Christian tradition.

Researchers of this group

Resources of this researcher

Location

Loading ...

Resources related toMuslim-Christian Dialogue

videos

Islam and the Salvation of non- Muslims: The Qur’anic Perspective

  • Gabriel Said Reynolds

"At the Pluriel conference on “Islam and Otherness” I will argue the Qur’an’s emphasis on divine freedom provides an opening for inclusivism. The Qur’an emphasizes God’s mercy, using al-Raḥmān as a...

publication

The document on human fraternity: an interdisciplinary reflection

  • Diego Sarrió Cucarella
  • Laurent Basanese

The volume, published in the series “Interreligious and Intercultural Investigations” (No. 14), brings together contributions from ten international scholars on the Document on Human Fr...

videos

Protestantism and Islam

  • Pierre-Olivier Léchot

How did Martin Luther and John Calvin view Islam? How have Protestant theologians contributed to research on Islam? Pierre-Olivier Léchot, professor of modern history at the Protestant Institute of...

article

Corresponding across Religious Borders: The Letter of al-Qūṭī

  • Diego Sarrió Cucarella

Summary : This article provides an introduction to the Letter of al-Qūṭī, a short anti-Islamic polemic in Arabic purportedly written by an unknown priest active in Toledo in the mid-1...

article

Lavigerie and Islam, an ambiguous legacy

  • Diego Sarrió Cucarella

In a recent article on the contribution of the White Fathers to the renewal of Catholic attitudes towards Islam, Rémi Caucanas rightly notes that their founder’s legacy “was not without ambiguity”...

publication

Blessed Ramon Llull: the character and his relationship with Islam

  • Diego Sarrió Cucarella

The PISAI is pleased to announce the publication of the book Il beato Raimondo Lullo: il personaggio e il suo rapporto con l’Islam (Roma 2021), edited by Professor Diego Sarrió Cucarella, MAf...

videos

‘Inimitable’ Koran ?

  • Tobias Specker

Interview with Pr. Tobias Specker, professor of Catholic Theology in the light of Islam at Sankt Georgen Graduate school of Philosophy and Theology, Frankfurt, Germany, about his book : Gottes Wort...

publication

Jacques Lanfry. A lion, the Church and Islam

  • Rémi Caucanas

Jacques Lanfry (1910-2000) joined the White Fathers in 1933 and is one of the missionary figures whose commitment illustrates that of the Catholic Church in favour of a dialogue with Muslims. Passi...

Hosted by

Pluriel

Initiated by

Pluriel

Supported by

Pluriel

Christian Troll

Après des études de philosophie et de théologie à Tübingen et Bonn (1957–1961), il étudie l’arabe à l’ Université Saint-Joseph de Beyrouth (1961–1963). Après être entré dans l’ordre des jésuites et la formation de base des jésuites, il a étudié à l’ École d’études orientales et africaines de l’Université de Londres à partir de 1966 , où il a obtenu un baccalauréat spécialisé en littérature ourdou en 1970 et un doctorat en 1975 avec une thèse sur l’islam moderne.Depuis la fin de 1999, il était à la tête du forum chrétien-islamique de l’Académie catholique de Berlin. En 2001, il a été nommé à l’ Université philosophique et théologique de Sankt Georgen à Francfort-sur-le-Main en tant que professeur honoraire. Il a pris sa retraite en 2007.

Jusqu’en 2005, Troll a été membre de la Commission pontificale pour les relations religieuses avec les musulmans , qui fait partie du Conseil pontifical pour le dialogue interreligieux (PCID), pendant douze ans . Il est considéré comme un éminent spécialiste de l’islam. Pape Benoît XVI. l’a nommé en 2008 comme l’un des scientifiques qui – à l’ invitation des 138 érudits islamiques – collaborent au Forum catholique-islamique. En outre, Troll est membre de la sous-commission de la Conférence épiscopale allemande pour le dialogue interreligieux et conseiller au bureau épiscopal CIBEDO.

Il est co-auteur avec Tobias Specker, sj, du livre qui a donné naissance au site web en allemand : « Les musulmans interrogent, les chrétiens répondent. »

 

Membre du groupe de recherche

Islam et la société contemporaine espagnole

Philosophisch-Theologische Hochschule Sankt Georgen - Allemagne

Théologie catholique en relation avec l’islam (Francfort)

La théologie catholique en Europe est de plus en plus confronté aux questions et critiques des intellectuels musulmans qui, notamment, soulignent les convergences entre les deux religions. Le projet de recherche vise à percevoir ce nouveau contexte de la théologie, à l’analyser soigneusement, et à reformuler les potentiels de la tradition chrétienne.

Chercheurs de ce groupe

Ressources du chercheur sur ce site

localisation

Chargement ...

Ressources liées àDialogue islamo-chrétien

publication

Le bienheureux Ramon Llull : le personnage et sa relation avec l’Islam

  • Diego Sarrió Cucarella

Titre original : Il beato Raimondo Lullo : il personaggio e il suo rapporto con l’Islam Publié dans la collection « Studi arabo-islamici del PISAI », cet ouvrage rassemble les contributions de dix ...

videos

Penser l’islam en Europe

  • Alberto Fabio Ambrosio

Entretien avec Alberto F. Ambrosio, dominicain, professeur de théologie et histoire des religions à la Luxembourg School of Religion & Society Journaliste : Raphaël Georgy Avec la collabo...

publication

Mon Dieu, comme tu es bon. La vie et le message de Charles de Foucauld

  • Andrea Mandonico

Cette courte biographie du bienheureux Charles De Foucauld met en lumière les points saillants de sa spiritualité et de son travail pastoral. L’auteur ouvre son essai par un examen approfondi...

videos

Le Coran est-il « inimitable » ?

  • Tobias Specker

Entretien avec le professeur de théologie dogmatique Tobias Specker s.j. à l'occasion de la parution le 1er juillet 2021 de son livre en allemand : Gottes Wort und menschliche Sprache. Christliche ...

publication

Jacques Lanfry. Un lion, l’Eglise et l’Islam

Entré chez les Pères Blancs en 1933, Jacques Lanfry (1910-2000) est l’une des figures missionnaires dont l’engagement illustre celui de l’Église catholique en faveur d’un dialogue avec les musulman...

publication

Parole de Dieu et langage humain. Théologie chrétienne de la Révélation et points de vue islamiques sur l’inimitabilité du Coran

  • Tobias Specker

La Parole de Dieu est au centre de la foi chrétienne et de la foi islamique. La révélation et le langage sont donc étroitement liés dans les deux religions. Tobias Specker fait dialoguer la théolog...

article

Propos de soufis. Mystique musulmane et Exercices spirituels de saint Ignace

Auteur : Maurice de Fenoyl, sj Ressource relevant des travaux du groupe « Islam et société dans l’Espagne contemporaine« . Résumé : Cette compilation de textes soufis met en relation les Exe...

videos

Repenser le vivre-ensemble Chrétiens-Musulmans au Liban

  • Amin Elias

À la veille du premier centenaire de la proclamation de l’Etat du Grand Liban (le premier septembre 1920), cette intervention propose d’exposer et analyser la position des musulmans au Liban à l’ég...