Hosted by

Pluriel

Initiated by

Pluriel

Supported by

Pluriel

Research Group

See all Research Groups

HEST Cluster: Christian-Muslim Relations (Europe)

Higher Education for Social Transformation (HEST) programme aims to bring Higher Education institutions and Social Centres of the Society of Jesus in Europe together so that they can contribute to the real changes our societies need by developing sound research.

The topic on Christian Muslim Relations gathers a cluster of Jesuit Higher Education Institutions working on the study of Islam itself, Christian-Muslim interreligious dialogue and dialogue with Islam on social issues. The goal is to connect the research of these institutions with other networks (social centers, schools…) of the Jesuit apostolate in Europe.

https://jesuits.eu/projects/higher-education-for-social-transformation 
https://kirchernetwork.org/projects/hest/

Partner institutions :

Universidad Loyola Andalucía, Universidad Pontificia de Comillas, Sankt Georgen Graduate School of Philosophy and Theology, Universität Innsbruck, Universidad de Deusto, Université Saint-Joseph (Beyrouth), Centres Sèvres, Collegium Bobolanum

Because the majority of Jesuit institutions interested in Christian-Muslim relations are already part of the network Pluriel, in dialogue with the Pluriel coordination committee, we foresee coordinating our efforts for the HEST project within Pluriel’s network. Therefore, we are moving in the direction of creating a subgroup of institutions inside Pluriel, working among themselves, but also sharing the same common goals of the entire network.

The main trait that all the members have in common is the will to approach Islam and Christian-Muslim relationships in a way that reflects Ignatian spirituality’s main caracteristics. The development of an Ignatian inspired methodology of dialogue with Islam – in the line of past historical contacts between Jesuits and Muslims – becomes then a main goal of our cluster.

Because on the main traits of Ignatian spirituality is the desire to contemplate our present world as God does and be moved to action by that contemplation, we take as a goal in our cluster to develop a certain transformative social influence in the field of dialogue with the Muslim tradition. This goal coincides with HEST ultimate inspiration. This influence is extremely needed in fields like education, social integration of migrants, development of religious freedom and other basic rights…

At the same time, as scholars, we feel responsible for doing a high quality and rigorous academic work that includes a deep and long study of Muslim and Christian sources. Only such a work may actually contribute to real progress in Christian-Muslim interreligious dialogue and may offer the Church a view of itself that overcome prejudices and facilitate entering in relations and working with Muslim communities.

In the best of the Jesuit tradition we want to articulate such rigorous academic approach with a more transformative one as the best way to produce real and fruitful knowledge. The diversity of our institutions and of their contexts may be very helpful in order to achieve such an articulation.

All these efforts will necessarily require a direct contact with Muslim communities and individuals, our relationships and friendships with them will make real our desire to contribute to Muslim-Christian dialogue. We hope to share and foster such key relationships.

Ultimately, as scholars working in this fields and as members of Jesuit institutions we want to be an instrument at the service of the Society of Jesus’s mission in Europe (and the Middle East?), which has as one of its priorities the Christian-Muslim relationships.

Group members

Dirk Ansorge

Professor in dogmatic theology - Philosophisch-Theologische Hochschule Sankt Georgen.

Josep Buades

Director of the Claver Association, Jesuit Service for Migrants in Spain

Alberto Priego Moreno

Professor of Political Science and International Relations at the Universidad Pontificia Comillas

Michaela Johanna Quast-Neulinger

University Assistant at the Institute of Systematic Theology - University of Innsbruck.

Fermín Francisco Rodriguez Lopez

Research fellow at the Andalusian chair for interreligious dialogue with islam - CANDIR

Ignacio Sepúlveda del Río

Assistant professor of political philosophy and philosophy of religion - Universidad Loyola Andalucía.

Tobias Specker

Junior professor “Catholic Theology in the Light of Islam” - Hochschule für Philosophie und Theologie Sankt Georgen, Frankfurt.

Roula Talhouk

Director of the Centre for Islamic-Christian Documentation and Research (CEDRIC) - Saint-Joseph University of Beirut.

Gonzalo Villagrán

Dean of the Faculty of Theology of Universidad Loyola in Granada. Professor of Christian social ethics

Hosted by

Pluriel

Initiated by

Pluriel

Supported by

Pluriel

HEST Cluster : Relations entre chrétiens et musulmans (Europe)

Le programme Higher Education for Social Transformation (HEST) vise à rassembler les institutions d’enseignement supérieur et les centres sociaux de la Compagnie de Jésus en Europe afin qu’ils puissent contribuer aux changements réels dont nos sociétés ont besoin en développant une recherche solide.

Le thème des relations entre chrétiens et musulmans rassemble un groupe d’institutions d’enseignement supérieur jésuites travaillant sur l’étude de l’Islam lui-même, le dialogue interreligieux entre chrétiens et musulmans et le dialogue avec l’Islam sur les questions sociales. L’objectif est de connecter la recherche de ces institutions avec d’autres réseaux (centres sociaux, écoles…) de l’apostolat jésuite en Europe.

 

https://jesuits.eu/projects/higher-education-for-social-transformation 
https://kirchernetwork.org/projects/hest/

Institutions partenaires :

Universidad Loyola Andalucía, Universidad Pontificia de Comillas, Sankt Georgen Graduate School of Philosophy and Theology, Universität Innsbruck, Universidad de Deusto, Université Saint-Joseph (Beyrouth), Centres Sèvres, Collegium Bobolanum

Comme la majorité des institutions jésuites intéressées par les relations entre chrétiens et musulmans font déjà partie du réseau Pluriel, en dialogue avec le comité de coordination de Pluriel, nous prévoyons de coordonner nos efforts pour le projet HEST au sein du réseau Pluriel. Nous nous orientons donc vers la création d’un sous-groupe d’institutions au sein de Pluriel, travaillant entre elles, mais partageant également les mêmes objectifs communs à l’ensemble du réseau.

Le principal trait commun à tous les membres est la volonté d’aborder l’Islam et les relations entre chrétiens et musulmans d’une manière qui reflète les principales caractéristiques de la spiritualité ignatienne. Le développement d’une méthodologie d’inspiration ignatienne pour le dialogue avec l’Islam – dans la lignée des contacts historiques entre Jésuites et Musulmans – devient alors un objectif principal de notre réseau.

Parce que l’une des principales caractéristiques de la spiritualité ignatienne est le désir de contempler notre monde actuel comme Dieu le fait et d’être poussé à l’action par cette contemplation, nous nous fixons comme objectif de développer une certaine influence sociale transformatrice dans le domaine du dialogue avec la tradition musulmane. Cet objectif coïncide avec l’inspiration ultime de HEST. Cette influence est extrêmement nécessaire dans des domaines comme l’éducation, l’intégration sociale des migrants, le développement de la liberté religieuse et d’autres droits fondamentaux…

En même temps, en tant qu’universitaires, nous nous sentons responsables de la réalisation d’un travail académique rigoureux et de haute qualité, qui comprend une étude longue et approfondie des sources musulmanes et chrétiennes. Seul un tel travail peut contribuer à un réel progrès dans le dialogue interreligieux entre chrétiens et musulmans et peut offrir à l’Église une vision d’elle-même qui dépasse les préjugés et facilite l’entrée en relation et le travail avec les communautés musulmanes.

Dans le meilleur de la tradition jésuite, nous voulons articuler une telle approche académique rigoureuse avec une approche plus transformative comme meilleure façon de produire une connaissance réelle et fructueuse. La diversité de nos institutions et de leurs contextes peut être très utile pour parvenir à une telle articulation.

Tous ces efforts nécessiteront nécessairement un contact direct avec les communautés et les individus musulmans, nos relations et nos amitiés avec eux concrétiseront notre désir de contribuer au dialogue islamo-chrétien. Nous espérons partager et favoriser ces relations essentielles.

En définitive, en tant que chercheurs travaillant dans ces domaines et en tant que membres d’institutions jésuites, nous voulons être un instrument au service de la mission de la Compagnie de Jésus en Europe et au Moyen-Orient, qui a pour priorité les relations entre chrétiens et musulmans.

Membres du groupe

Dirk Ansorge

Professeur en théologie dogmatique - Philosophisch-Theologische Hochschule Sankt Georgen.

Josep Buades

Directeur de l'Association Claver, Service Jésuite des Migrants en Espagne

Alberto Priego Moreno

Professeur au département de relations internationales - Universidad Pontificia Comillas, Madrid

Michaela Quast-Neulinger

Assistante universitaire à l’Institut de Théologie Systématique, Université d’Innsbruck.

Fermín Francisco Rodríguez López

Chercheur à la chaire andalouse du dialogue interreligieux, CANDIR, Universidad Loyola

Ignacio Sepúlveda del Río

Professeur assistant de philosophie politique et philosophie de la religion - Universidad Loyola Andalucía.

Tobias Specker

Professeur adjoint pour la "Théologie catholique à la lumière de l'Islam" à l'école supérieure de philosophie et de théologie de Sankt Georgen, à Francfort.

Roula Talhouk

Directrice du Centre de documentation et de recherches islamo-chrétiennes (CEDRIC) - Université Saint-Joseph de Beyrouth.

Gonzalo Villagrán

Doyen de la Faculté de Théologie de l'Universidad Loyola à Grenade, Professeur d'éthique sociale chrétienne