Pluriel

University platform for research on Islam

Initiated by
the Federation
of European
Catholic
Universities

Supported by
the International
Federation
of Catholic
Universities

Ressource

video | See all resources

2018

A comparative study of Tala Asad’s and Abdullahi Ahmed An-Na-im’s discussions of Muslims and their (non-)belonging in the secular-liberal state

Conference of Michaela NEULINGER during the second international Congress of PLURIEL in Rome.

In contemporary times, the principle “citizenship” is defended as an inclusive concept uniting people in religiously and culturally plural states, on the other hand it is questioned by religious actors and abused by political populists to exclude certain groups. Talal Asad and Abdullahi an-Na’im are two prominent Muslim intellectuals in the debate about Muslims, Islam and the secular state. While for an-Na’im this state and its concept of citizenship is a necessary prerequisite for peaceful coexistence in religiously plural societies and a guarantor of space and freedom also for Muslims, Talal Asad is deeply critical about the secular state and its institutions. For Asad the concept of citizenship as developed in the secular European states is homogenizing and in the end particularly discriminatory against Muslims and Islam.

The paper aims at a critical comparison of Asad’s and an-Na’im’s discussion of the secular state, its concept of citizenship and the possibly included discriminatory mechanisms. Is there really “no space for Muslims as Muslims” in secular-liberal European states as Asad claims? Is the concept of citizenship definitely the essential, inclusive principle for plural societies?

In a first step, the paper will introduce the concept of citizenship from a secular-liberal perspective, its framework and goals. Second, the positions of Talal Asad and Abdullahi an-Na’im will be presented and critically compared. Finally, I will draw conclusions for the development of a possible future concept of an inclusive “European Citizenship” that takes for serious the religious identities of people as a resource for solidarity and cooperation in a religiously and culturally plural Europe.

Titre original : “A comparative study of Tala Asad’s and Abdullahi Ahmed an-Na-im’s discussions of Muslims and their (non-)belonging in the secular-liberal state”

Conférence de Michaela NEULINGER lors du deuxième Congrès international de PLURIEL à Rome.

De nos jours, le principe de la “citoyenneté” est défendu comme un concept inclusif réunissant les personnes dans des États pluriels sur le plan religieux et culturel ; d’autre part, il est remis en question par des acteurs religieux et instrumentalisé par les populistes politiques pour exclure certains groupes. Talal Asad et Abdullahi an-Na’im sont deux éminents intellectuels musulmans dans ce débat sur le rapport entre musulmans, islam et État laïc. Alors que pour an-Na’im cet État et son concept de citoyenneté sont une condition nécessaire à la coexistence pacifique dans des sociétés religieuses plurielles et un garant de l’espace et de la liberté également pour les musulmans, Talal Asad est profondément critique à l’égard de l’État laïc et de ses institutions. Pour Asad, le concept de citoyenneté tel qu’il est développé dans les États européens laïcs est en train de s’homogénéiser dans un sens particulièrement discriminatoire à l’encontre des musulmans et de l’islam.

Cet article vise à poser une comparaison critique entre les discussions d’Asad et d’an-Na’im sur l’État laïque, sa conception de la citoyenneté et les éventuels mécanismes discriminatoires. N’y a-t-il vraiment “aucune place pour les musulmans en tant que musulmans” dans les États européens laïcs et libéraux comme le prétend Asad ? Le concept de citoyenneté est-il définitivement le principe essentiel et inclusif des sociétés libérales ?

Dans un premier temps, l’article présentera le concept de citoyenneté dans une perspective laïque-libérale, avec son cadre et ses objectifs. Deuxièmement, les positions de Talal Asad et d’Abdullahi an-Na’im seront présentées et comparées de façon critique. Enfin, je tirerai des conclusions pour le développement d’un concept de “citoyenneté européenne” inclusive qui prenne au sérieux les identités religieuses des personnes comme ressource de solidarité et de coopération dans une Europe plurielle sur les plan religieux et culturel.

Resources related to keywords

videos

The other in Islamic civilization: from the immanence of cultures to divine transcendence

    Auteur(s) :

  • Raja Sakrani

Lecture given at the 3rd International Congress of Pluriel on the theme "Islam and Otherness", on 24 May 2022, at Saint Joseph University in Beirut. Read abstract on the French tab.

videos

Protestantism and Islam

    Auteur(s) :

  • Pierre-Olivier Léchot

How did Martin Luther and John Calvin view Islam? How have Protestant theologians contributed to research on Islam? Pierre-Olivier Léchot, professor of modern history at the Protestant Institute of...

article

Islamic Hermeneutics of Nonviolence: Key Concepts and Methodological Steps

    Auteur(s) :

  • Adnane Mokrani

The article traces the key concepts and methodological steps that make an Islamic theology of nonviolence plausible. It offers the tools for a critical reading of classical texts, “sacred” history,...

videos

Understanding freedom of religion around the Mediterranean

    Auteur(s) :

  • Alessandro Ferrari
  • Amin Elias

How to manage religious plurality? Three researchers from our network look back at the history of the northern, eastern and southern shores of the Mediterranean to understand the diversity of legal...

videos

Does the pandemic affect radicalisation?

    Auteur(s) :

  • Patrice Brodeur

Collaboration between Canadian and French researchers in the framework of the Centre Jacques Cartier talks, promoting partnerships between the Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes region and Quebec.

article

Environmentalism and sustainability as an expression of Islamic moral orientation

    Auteur(s) :

  • Ida Zilio-Grandi

Abstract : The essay emphasizes cultural specificities, starting with the terminology currently used to describe sustainability, and investigates the lack of homogeneity of the semantic fields bel...

article

Corresponding across Religious Borders: The Letter of al-Qūṭī

    Auteur(s) :

  • Diego Sarrió Cucarella

Summary : This article provides an introduction to the Letter of al-Qūṭī, a short anti-Islamic polemic in Arabic purportedly written by an unknown priest active in Toledo in the mid-1...

article

Lavigerie and Islam, an ambiguous legacy

    Auteur(s) :

  • Diego Sarrió Cucarella

In a recent article on the contribution of the White Fathers to the renewal of Catholic attitudes towards Islam, Rémi Caucanas rightly notes that their founder’s legacy “was not without ambiguity”...

publication

Discourses and strategies of otherness: Crossed perspectives and analyses

    Auteur(s) :

  • Mohamed-Ali Mostfa

Summary: The interest of discourse analysis is to highlight the articulations of texts and social locations (Maingueneau, 2012). Questioning the functioning of these formations and the conditions o...

article

Religious radicalization. Process of a controversial concept

    Auteur(s) :

  • Mohamed-Ali Mostfa

Introduction : I would like to seize the opportunity of my first participation to the Mediterranean website to raise the issue of radicalisation as a concept, which has permeated the political a...

Pluriel

Plateforme universitaire de recherche sur l’islam

Initiée par la
fédération
des universités
catholiques
européennes

Soutenue par
la fédération
internationale
des universités
catholiques

Anglais

2018

Étude comparative des débats entre Talal Asad et Abdullahi an-Na’im à propos des musulmans et leur (non-)appartenance dans les pays sécularisés et libéraux

Titre original : « A comparative study of Tala Asad’s and Abdullahi Ahmed an-Na-im’s discussions of Muslims and their (non-)belonging in the secular-liberal state »

Conférence de Michaela NEULINGER lors du deuxième Congrès international de PLURIEL à Rome.

De nos jours, le principe de la « citoyenneté » est défendu comme un concept inclusif réunissant les personnes dans des États pluriels sur le plan religieux et culturel ; d’autre part, il est remis en question par des acteurs religieux et instrumentalisé par les populistes politiques pour exclure certains groupes. Talal Asad et Abdullahi an-Na’im sont deux éminents intellectuels musulmans dans ce débat sur le rapport entre musulmans, islam et État laïc. Alors que pour an-Na’im cet État et son concept de citoyenneté sont une condition nécessaire à la coexistence pacifique dans des sociétés religieuses plurielles et un garant de l’espace et de la liberté également pour les musulmans, Talal Asad est profondément critique à l’égard de l’État laïc et de ses institutions. Pour Asad, le concept de citoyenneté tel qu’il est développé dans les États européens laïcs est en train de s’homogénéiser dans un sens particulièrement discriminatoire à l’encontre des musulmans et de l’islam.

Cet article vise à poser une comparaison critique entre les discussions d’Asad et d’an-Na’im sur l’État laïque, sa conception de la citoyenneté et les éventuels mécanismes discriminatoires. N’y a-t-il vraiment « aucune place pour les musulmans en tant que musulmans » dans les États européens laïcs et libéraux comme le prétend Asad ? Le concept de citoyenneté est-il définitivement le principe essentiel et inclusif des sociétés libérales ?

Dans un premier temps, l’article présentera le concept de citoyenneté dans une perspective laïque-libérale, avec son cadre et ses objectifs. Deuxièmement, les positions de Talal Asad et d’Abdullahi an-Na’im seront présentées et comparées de façon critique. Enfin, je tirerai des conclusions pour le développement d’un concept de « citoyenneté européenne » inclusive qui prenne au sérieux les identités religieuses des personnes comme ressource de solidarité et de coopération dans une Europe plurielle sur les plan religieux et culturel.

Conference of Michaela NEULINGER during the second international Congress of PLURIEL in Rome.

In contemporary times, the principle “citizenship” is defended as an inclusive concept uniting people in religiously and culturally plural states, on the other hand it is questioned by religious actors and abused by political populists to exclude certain groups. Talal Asad and Abdullahi an-Na’im are two prominent Muslim intellectuals in the debate about Muslims, Islam and the secular state. While for an-Na’im this state and its concept of citizenship is a necessary prerequisite for peaceful coexistence in religiously plural societies and a guarantor of space and freedom also for Muslims, Talal Asad is deeply critical about the secular state and its institutions. For Asad the concept of citizenship as developed in the secular European states is homogenizing and in the end particularly discriminatory against Muslims and Islam.

The paper aims at a critical comparison of Asad’s and an-Na’im’s discussion of the secular state, its concept of citizenship and the possibly included discriminatory mechanisms. Is there really “no space for Muslims as Muslims” in secular-liberal European states as Asad claims? Is the concept of citizenship definitely the essential, inclusive principle for plural societies?

In a first step, the paper will introduce the concept of citizenship from a secular-liberal perspective, its framework and goals. Second, the positions of Talal Asad and Abdullahi an-Na’im will be presented and critically compared. Finally, I will draw conclusions for the development of a possible future concept of an inclusive “European Citizenship” that takes for serious the religious identities of people as a resource for solidarity and cooperation in a religiously and culturally plural Europe.

محاضرة ألقتها ميكايلا كاست نولينجر في المؤتمر الدولي الثاني الذي نظّمته شبكة PLURIEL في روما.

في عصرنا هذا، يتمّ الدفاع عن مبدأ « المواطنة » كمفهوم شامل يوحّد الناس في دولٍ تعدّديةٍ دينياً وثقافياً، إلا أنّ الجهات الفاعلة الدينيّة لا تنفكّ تشكّك فيها والسياسيّين الشعبويّين يسيئون استخدامها لإقصاء مجموعات معيّنة. يُعتبرُ طلال أسد وعبد الله أحمد النعيم مُفكّرَين مُسلمَين بارزَين في مجال النقاش حول المسلمين والإسلام والدولة العلمانيّة. فيما يعتقدُ النعيم أنّ هذه الدولة ومفهومها للمواطنة يشكّلان شرطاً مسبقاً ضرورياً للتعايش السلمي في مجتمعات ذات تعدّدية دينيّة وضامنًا المساحةَ والحريّةَ للجميع حتى المسلمين، يتبنّى طلال أسد من جهته موقفاً انتقاديّاً شديداً حيال الدولة العلمانية ومؤسساتها. إذ إنّ مفهوم المواطنة بالنسبة إليه كما تمّ تطويره في الدول الأوروبية العلمانية يتخّذ منحى موحّداً يفضي إلى تمييزٍ يطال المسلمين والإسلام بشكل خاصّ.

تهدف هذه المقالة إلى وضع مقارنة نقديّة تطالُ نقاش النعيم وأسد حول الدولة العلمانية ومفهومها للمواطنة وآليّات التمييز التي قد تشتملُ عليها. هل من الصحيح أنّ الدول الأوروبيّة العلمانيّة-الليبراليّة لا تترك « مساحةً للمسلمين كمُسلمين » كما يدّعي أسد؟ هل مفهوم المواطنة يشكّلُ مبدأ المجتمعات التعدّدية الجوهريّ والشامل؟

في مرحلةٍ أولى، ستعرِّف المقالةُ بمفهوم المواطنة من وجهة نظر علمانيّة-ليبراليّة، وإطارها وغاياتها. وفي مرحلة ثانية، ستعرضُ مواقف طلال أسد وعبد الله النعيم وستقارنها بطريقة نقديّة. وأخيراً، سأستخلص استنتاجات لتطوير مفهوم مستقبلي محتمل لـ « مواطنة أوروبية » شاملة تأخذ على محمل الجدّ هويات الأفراد الدينية كمصدر تضامن وتعاون في أوروبا ذات التعدّدية الدينيّة والثقافية.

Ressources liées àAnalyse des discours - Herméneutique

article

Jalal al-Din al-Suyuti et la seconde venue de Jésus selon l’islam

    Auteur(s) :

  • Antonio Cuciniello

"Cet article présente tout d'abord l'image globale de Jésus dans le texte coranique, parmi les récits des autres prophètes, son rôle prophétique durant la mission que Dieu lui a confiée sur terre e...

article

Radicalité religieuse : les défis d’un concept mal défini en Europe

    Auteur(s) :

  • Ali Mostfa

Ali Mostfa, professeur de linguistique et d'analyse du discours à l'Université catholique de Lyon, analyse les glissements sémantiques autour de la notion de radicalité religieuse, en particulier d...

publication

Normativité des Écritures sacrées dans le judaïsme, le christianisme et l’islam

    Auteur(s) :

  • Klaus von Stosch
  • Zishan Ahmad Ghaffar

Dans le judaïsme, le christianisme et l’islam, l’orientation par les « textes sacrés » est centrale. S’il était autrefois incontestable que ces textes pouvaient être considérés co...

article

Le péché originel et le Coran

    Auteur(s) :

  • Gabriel Said Reynolds

Titre original : "The Original Sin and the Qur'an" Résumé : Le présent article traite de l'opinion courante selon laquelle le Coran n'aurait pas de doctrine du péché originel. Il commence par dé...

videos

Altérités religieuses et altérités culturelles : questions faisant débat en Islam

    Auteur(s) :

  • Samir Arbache

Conférence donnée à l'Université Saint-Joseph de Beyrouth le mardi 24 mai 2022 lors du congrès de "Pluriel" sur le thème "Islam et altérité".

videos

Le pluralisme religieux dans le Maroc de l’après « printemps arabe »

    Auteur(s) :

  • Youssef Boutahar

Titre original de la conférence : "Re-problematizing the Religious Majority-Minority Dialectics in Post-Arab Spring Morocco: Between Subalternity and Digital Disobedience" Compte tenu du débat q...

videos

L’ailleurs et l’altérité dans la langue et la culture arabe

    Auteur(s) :

  • Ali Mostfa

Étymologiquement, le nom âkhar du verbe âkhara, dessine plutôt l’action d’ajournement, أَخَّرَ العَمَلَ, ou de déprogrammation provisoire d’une action. al-âkhar par ailleurs n’instaure pas une rela...

videos

Le style politique populiste du parti islamiste marocain PJD

    Auteur(s) :

  • Amina Drhimeur

Titre de la conférence : "Le « nous » contre les « autres », le style politique populiste du parti islamiste le PJD" Comment les acteurs religieux conçoivent-ils un monde de plus en plus globali...

videos

L’unité de Dieu et l’unité en Dieu – une perspective possible et une voie de dialogue entre les croyants ?

    Auteur(s) :

  • Vanessa Breidy

Une perspective chiite du dialogue développée par D. Mohammad Ali Shomali. Parler d'unité entre les croyants et les appeler à agir en conséquence n'est pas nouveau en Islam. Le Coran et les début...

videos

Représentations des musulmans non islamistes dans le discours islamiste sunnite

    Auteur(s) :

  • Wael Saleh

Titre intégral de la conférence : "Représentations des musulmans non islamistes dans le discours islamiste sunnite : une altérité intra-religieuse ?" De quelle manière les musulmans non frériste...