Pluriel

University platform for research on Islam

Initiated by
the Federation
of European
Catholic
Universities

Supported by
the International
Federation
of Catholic
Universities

Paolo Branca

Paolo Branca is professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies at the Catholic University of Milan. Specialized in the problems of the modern Islam-world relationship, he has published: Voices of modern Islam: Arab-Muslim thinking between renewal and tradition (Marietti, Genoa 1991), Introduction to Islam < / em> (San Paolo, Milan 1995), Muslims (Il Mulino, Bologna 2000), Il Corano (Il Mulino, Bologna 2001), Yalla Italia! The real challenges of integrating Arabs and Muslims into our country (Edizioni Lavoro, Rome 2007) and, with Barbara de Poli and Patrizia Zanella, The smile of the crescent (Carocci, Rome 2011). He translated the novel of the Egyptian Nobel Prize winner Nagib Mahfuz, Vicolo del Mortaio (Feltrinelli, Milan 1989).

Author of numerous articles on Islam, interfaith dialogue, cultural integration and other subjects, he is associated with or participated in university seminars in various institutions, including the Pontificia Universitas Urbaniana; the Institut du Monde Arabe in Paris; the Accademia della Guardia di Finanza in Bergamo; the universities of Lausanne, Pisa, Florence and Turin; and Ain Shams University, Cairo, Egypt.

He is a member of the scientific committee of Oasis, of SeSaMo (Middle East Studies Society) of which he was a founding member and president; and the Committee for Italian Islam, created by the Ministry of the Interior.

Member of the Research group

Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore - Italy

For a preventive Islamic de-radicalization. The Re-Configuration of the Humanities within an inter-religious approach. (Milan)

Research group held by the Catholic University of the Sacred Heart of Milan.
The return to the humanities is not only necessary, but crucial for the promotion of a de-radicalising approach to both societies: the Islamic world and Europe. This research project intends to work not only in relation to the Islamic world or the Old Continent, but to both at the same time.
The aim is to create a project of preventive de-radicalisation of Muslim citizens and society, working on a double methodological and interdisciplinary axis: the teaching of Islam, its history, its religious tradition, its sociology, etc. in parallel with the religious, cultural and historical approach of the European world and the West.

Researchers of this group

Member of the Research group

Islam in Europe (Closed)

The project aims at studying the legal statute of the Islamic communities in the EU countries.

Researchers of this group

Member of the Research group

Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore - Italy

Dynamics of Islamic radicalization in Europe: prevention and educational policies (Closed)

Since the “Arab Springs” breakout in 2011, Islamist radicalization in Europe progressively grew as ISIS spread violence and chaos in Iraq, Syria and Libya. The so-called “Islamic State” brought a new vision of radical Islam which tears down all ethnic, national, cultural and linguistic barriers in order to promote a totalitarian view of religion that does not tolerate any type of distinction. No difference is made, at least in theory, even between converts and Muslim-born volunteers.

Researchers of this group

Resources of this researcher

Location

Loading ...

Resources related toIslam in Europe

videos

Protestantism and Islam

  • Pierre-Olivier Léchot

How did Martin Luther and John Calvin view Islam? How have Protestant theologians contributed to research on Islam? Pierre-Olivier Léchot, professor of modern history at the Protestant Institute of...

article

The challenges of religious visibility in the liberal public space

Western modernity has engaged the religious question, over the past thirty years in processes that show an increased interaction between religiosity, visibility and urban public space. At a time wh...

publication

Religious minorities in France

  • Karim Ifrak

Edited by Anne-Laure Zwilling This unique book, bringing together nearly 80 sociologists, ethnologists, anthropologists, historian, wants to allow a better knowledge of the religious groups present...

videos

Who is an authority in Islam in Switzerland and France?

  • Haoues Seniguer
  • Erwin Tanner
  • Michel Younès

Elements of answers to a question studied by the research group on the theme "Authority and regulation in Islam" of the Centre for the Study of Cultures and Religions (CECR, UCLy) The question i...

article

Innovative social work practices by Islamic grassroots organizations in Switzerland

  • Baptiste Brodard

In Switzerland, specific issues related to Muslims have recently emerged in public debates. In addition to the question of radicalization, Muslim migrant populations are affected by social problems...

publication

A Response to Public Discourse? Intracultural Islamic Social Work in a Plural Society

  • Hansjörg Schmid
  • Baptiste Brodard

As the public discourse on Islam is strongly influenced by the issue of radicalisation, the topic of prevention is gaining in importance and legitimacy. While the Swiss welfare state leaves little ...

article

The Law of the Other

  • Raja Sakrani

Abstract As the Other is indispensable for the construction of self-identity and collective identity, the question of the Other is viscerally linked not only to the question of identity but also...

publication

Geography of a forbidden land, women’s bodies: the image of women in Hanbalite fatwas in French-language works

  • Bénédicte Du Chaffaut

Original tile : ‘Géographie d’une terre interdite, le corps des femmes : l’image des femmes dans les fatwas hanbalites d’ouvrages francophones’ This work aims to analyse the image of wo...

Hosted by

Pluriel

Initiated by

Pluriel

Supported by

Pluriel

Paolo Branca

Paolo Branca est professeur de langue et littérature arabes et d’islam à l’Université catholique de Milan. Spécialisé dans les problèmes de la relation islam-monde moderne, il a publié: Voices of modern Islam: Arab-Muslim thinking between renouveau et tradition (Marietti, Genoa 1991), Introduction to Islam (San Paolo, Milan 1995), Muslims (Il Mulino, Bologne 2000), Il Corano (Il Mulino, Bologne 2001), Yalla Italia! Les vrais défis de l’intégration des Arabes et des musulmans dans notre pays (Edizioni Lavoro, Rome 2007) et, avec Barbara de Poli et Patrizia Zanella, Le sourire du croissant (Carocci, Rome 2011). Il a traduit le roman du prix Nobel égyptien Nagib Mahfuz, Vicolo del Mortaio (Feltrinelli, Milan 1989).

Auteur de nombreux articles sur l’islam, le dialogue interconfessionnel, l’intégration culturelle et d’autres sujets, il est associé ou a participé à des séminaires universitaires dans diverses institutions, dont la Pontificia Universitas Urbaniana; l’Institut du Monde Arabe à Paris; l’Accademia della Guardia di Finanza à Bergame; les universités de Lausanne, Pise, Florence et Turin; et Université d’Ain Shams, Le Caire, Égypte.

Il est membre du comité scientifique d’Oasis, de SeSaMo (Middle East Studies Society) dont il était membre fondateur et président; et du Comité pour l’Islam italien, créé par le Ministère de l’intérieur.

Membre du groupe de recherche

Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore - Italie

Pour une dé-radicalisation préventive. La reconfiguration des humanités dans une approche inter-religieuse. (Milan)

Groupe de recherche porté par l’Université catholique du Sacré Coeur de Milan.
Le retour aux humanités est non seulement nécessaire, mais crucial pour la promotion d’une approche dé-radicalisante des deux sociétés : le monde islamique et l’Europe. Ce projet de recherche a l’intention de travailler non pas uniquement en lien avec le monde islamique ou le Vieux Continent, mais avec les deux en même temps.
L’objectif est de créer un projet de dé-radicalisation préventive des citoyens musulmans et de la société, en travaillant sur un double axe méthodologique et interdisciplinaire : l’enseignement de l’Islam, son histoire, sa tradition religieuse, sa sociologie, etc. en parallèle à l’approche religieuse, culturelle et historique du monde européen et de l’occident.

Chercheurs de ce groupe

localisation

Chargement ...

Ressources liées àIslam en Europe

article

Les défis de la visibilité religieuse dans l’espace public libéral

  • Ali Mostfa

La modernité occidentale a engagé la question religieuse, au cours des trente dernières années, dans des processus qui montrent une interaction accrue entre religiosité, visibilité et espace public...

article

Pratiques innovantes de travail social des organisations islamiques populaires en Suisse

  • Baptiste Brodard

Titre original : "Innovative social work practices by Islamic grassroots organizations in Switzerland" Résumé En Suisse, des questions spécifiques liées aux musulmans ont récemment fait leur ...

publication

Le travail social islamique interculturel dans une société plurielle

  • Hansjörg Schmid
  • Baptiste Brodard

Résumé Comme le discours public sur l’islam est fortement marqué par la question de la radicalisation, le thème de la prévention gagne en importance et en légitimité. Alors que l’État-p...

article

Le Ḏhimmī comme l’Autre dans les Convivencias d’al-Andalus

  • Raja Sakrani

Titre original : "The Ḏhimmī as the Other of Multiple Convivencias in al-Andalus" Résumé La figure du ḏhimmī (ndlr : sujet non musulman dans un État musulman) est certainement la figure juridiq...

article

La loi de l’Autre

  • Raja Sakrani

Titre original : "The Law of the Other" Résumé L'altérité étant indispensable à la construction de l'identité personnelle et collective, la question de l'Autre est intimement liée non seuleme...

publication

Géographie d’une terre interdite, le corps des femmes : l’image des femmes dans les fatwas hanbalites d’ouvrages francophones

  • Bénédicte du Chaffaut

Ce travail vise à analyser l’image du corps des femmes renvoyée par les fatwas hanbalites délivrées en Arabie saoudite et disponible dans des ouvrages en langue française. Dénotant une vision très ...

publication

Les étudiants musulmans à l’école

  • Antonio Cuciniello

Titre original : « Studenti musulmani a scuola » Quelles questions les enfants et les jeunes, en particulier la « deuxième génération », qui pratiquent la religion islamique, posent-ils aux écoles ...

videos

La pensée réformiste islamique en Europe occidentale : la zakat pour les non-musulmans comme illustration

  • Baptiste Brodard

Titre original : "Islamic Reformist Thought in Western Europe: Zakat for Non-Muslims as an Illustration" Le réformisme islamique est un concept de plus en plus populaire en Europe. Cependant, el...